WVWC’s Taboada named MEC Golfer of the Year

BRIDGEPORT — The All-MEC men’s golf teams are selected based on individual performances by players during five rounds of MEC sponsored play during the 2023-24 season. The first three rounds of MEC play took place from Oct. 2-4 at Avalon Golf and Country Club in Warren, Ohio during the 2023 MEC Golf Championships. The final two rounds were played over the last two days (April 8-9) at Oglebay Resort during the 2024 MEC Spring Invitational.

West Virginia Wesleyan’s Francisco Taboada followed up his medalist performance at the MEC Championships by shooting a 71 and 69 during the two-day spring invitational. With a five-round average of 70.6, Taboada has been named the 2023-24 MEC Player of the Year.

Joining Taboada on the All-MEC first team was Fairmont State’s Alex Turowski, Glenville State’s Benjamin Fernandez, Charleston’s William Carestam, Davis & Elkins’ Elias Jarn and UC’s Pau Sanchez.

GSU’s Fernandez was also recognized as the MEC Freshman of the Year after leading the league’s freshman with a round-average of 72.8.

Charleston has a trio of players named to the second team, including Erik Ulvang, Rory Gorman and Carlos Mortera. West Virginia Wesleyan’s Mateo Zolezzi, West Liberty’s Derek Graham, Davis & Elkins’ Matin Eisa, Glenville State’s Juan Monckeberg, and West Virginia State’s Kunakorn Tang were also recognized on the second team.

Four MEC standouts also earned MEC honorable mention, including Davis & Elkins’ Matthew Crookes, Fairmont State’s Jack Hayes, West Virginia Wesleyan’s Alexia Abalos and West Liberty’s Bo Orecchio.

Glenville State head coach John Lilly was named the MEC Men’s Golf Coach of the Year.

During this week’s MEC Spring Invitational, Charleston took first-place with a three-under par for the tournament. The Golden Eagles shot seven-under par during Tuesday’s second round. Glenville State finished in second at +2, while West Liberty (+6) rounded out the top three.

Individually, Fernandez topped the leaderboard by shooting 10-under par during the 36 holes. Fernandez shot seven-under during Monday’s first round.

2023-24 Men’s Golf Awards Winners and All-Conference Teams
Player of the Year: Francisco Taboada (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Freshman of the Year: Benjamin Fernandez (Glenville State)
Coach of the Year: John Lilly (Glenville State)

First Team
William Carestam (Charleston)
Benjamin Fernandez (Glenville State)
Elias Jarn (Davis & Elkins)
Pau Sanchez (Charleston)
Francisco Taboada (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Alex Turowski (Fairmont State)

Second Team
Matin Eisa (Davis & Elkins)
Rory Gorman (Charleston)
Derek Graham (West Liberty)
Juan Monckeberg (Glenville State)
Carlos Fernandez Mortera (Charleston)
Kunakorn Tang (West Virginia State)
Erik Ulvang (Charleston)
Mateo Zolezzi (West Virginia Wesleyan)

Honorable Mention
Alexia Abalos (West Virginia Wesleyan)
Matthew Crookes (Davis & Elkins)
Jack Hayes (Fairmont State)
Bo Orecchio (West Liberty)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!