Emma Witt (Brian Bergstrom/My Buckhannon).

WVWC’s Witt earns Second Team All-MEC basketball honor

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Glenville State guard Breanna Campbell headlined the Mountain East Conference postseason awards and all-conference teams on Monday afternoon as the league’s 2022-23 Player of the Year in women’s basketball. Frostburg State’s Emilee Weakley was named the MEC Freshman of the Year, while Glenville State head coach Kim Stephens earned MEC Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time.

Campbell and Weakley were joined on the All-MEC first team by Wheeling’s Lauren Calhoun, Fairmont State’s Alyssa DeAngelo, West Virginia State’s Anysa Jordan, West Liberty’s Arriana Manzay, Charleston’s Trinity Palacio and Glenville’s Mickayla Perdue.

Campbell, a junior guard from Largo, Fla., led the Pioneers to a 26-2 record in 2022-23, averaging 17.2 points, 5.6 rebounds, 4.3 assists and 2.1 steals per game. She shot over 50 percent from the floor and also made 23 three-pointers on the year. Campbell finished the year with two 30-point scoring performances, eight 20-point scoring performances and had two double-doubles on the season. She scored a season-high 38 points at West Liberty back in early January.

Campbell is the third GSU women’s basketball player to be named the MEC Player of the Year, joining Paris McLeod (2017, 2018) and Re’Shawna Stone (2022).

Weakley, a freshman post player from Luray, Va., currently leads NCAA Division II averaging 25.5 points per game as a freshman. She also pulled down 10.4 rebounds per game during the regular season and added 42 steals and seven blocked shots for the Bobcats. Weakley filled the stat sheet all season with nine 30-point scoring performances, twenty 20-point scoring performances and 18 double-doubles. Weakley broke the MEC single-game scoring record with 47 points against West Liberty on Feb. 15.

After leading Glenville State to the 2022 NCAA Division II National Championship, head coach Kim Stephens rebuilt her roster that included just two returning players and led the Pioneers to a 26-2 overall record in 2022-23. The Pioneers went 13-0 at home and ended the season on an 11-game winning streak. GSU also won its sixth regular season title in the last seven seasons and currently ranks fourth in the WBCA National Poll and first in the Atlantic Region Rankings.

West Virginia Wesleyan freshman Emma Witt was the lone Lady Bobcat named to the team as she was selected to the Second Team All-MEC.

Witt averaged 15.8 points per game on 44% shooting from the field and pulled down 6.6 rebounds per game. The Staunton, Va. native ranked 11th in the MEC in scoring, 13th in field goal percentage and 15th in rebounding. Witt scored in double-figures in 20 games this season, including eight games of 20 or more points.

She had a career-high 36 points against West Virginia State at home and capped off the 2023 season with a 29-point game at Davis & Elkins. Witt also had three double-doubles on the year. She was one of three freshmen to earn All-MEC honors.

The MEC postseason awards and all-conference teams are selected following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

2023 All-MEC First Team
Lauren CalhounWheelingSr.F6-0Ravenna, Ohio
Breanna CampbellGlenville StateJr.G5-5Largo, Fla.
Alyssa DeAngeloFairmont StateJr.G5-10Jefferson Hills, Pa.
Anysa JordanWest Virginia St.Sr.F6-1Fairmont, W.Va.
Arriana ManzayWest LibertySr.F6-3Lubbock, Texas
Trinity PalacioCharlestonGr.G5-4Alexandria, Va.
Mickayla PerdueGlenville StateJr.G5-6Springfield, Ohio
Emilee WeakleyFrostburg StateFr.F5-11Luray, Va.
2023 All-MEC Second Team
Katy DarnellFairmont StateSr.G5-6Charleston, W.Va.
Destiny FieldsWest Virginia St.Sr.F5-10Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Shelby HarmeyerWest Virginia St.Sr.G5-10Independence, Ky.
Karly McCutcheonWest LibertySo.G5-9New Castle, Pa.
Dakota ReevesCharlestonSr.G5-7Cincinnati, Ohio
Abbie SmithConcordFr.F6-2Little Hocking, Ohio
Taylor SmithDavis & ElkinsSo.G5-7Uniontown, Pa.
Iyahnna WilliamsAlderson BroaddusJr.F5-10Cleveland, Ohio
Emma WittWest Va. WesleyanFr.G5-9Staunton, Va.
2023 All-MEC Honorable Mention
Alana EllisNotre DameR-So.G5-11Twinsburg, Ohio
Hya HaywoodGlenville StateJr.G5-6Evansville, Ind.
Markyia McCormickCharlestonSr.G5-6Pickerington, Ohio
Jaisah SmithConcordJr.G5-9Bluefield, W.Va.
Shamia StrayhornWheelingSo.G5-7Cincinnati, Ohio

Player of the Year: Breanna Campbell (Glenville State)
Freshman of the Year: Emilee Weakley (Frostburg State)
Coach of the Year: Kim Stephens (Glenville State)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!