Wrestling Bucs win debut in dual outing with Lewis County

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur wrestling Bucs opened their season with a win, downing the Lewis County Minutemen by a 48-32 score in a dual outing Thursday night at the high school.

“As always, it’s awesome to have that season opener at home,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Jacob Orr. ‘We brought in a pretty good crowd and I appreciate the parents, student body and community members that came out to support the boys. It was a good early-season team win for us but we still have a long way to go.”

Despite their being 14 weight classes, only seven matches took place due to forfeitures.

B-U had to forfeit the 182 and heavyweight divisions while Lewis County forfeited at 106, 113, 138, 145 and 160 pounds.

Earning wins on the mat for B-U were Liam Garcia (120) pinning Jared Flanigan, Aidan Wilson (126) by injury default over Brock Mitchell and Oscar Blonn (195) pinning Britton Farnsworth.

Orr said the match of the night for the Bucs went to Luke Bohnsack. Bohnsack earned a forfeit win at 160, but wrestled an exhibition match that the head coach raved about.

“He put together a solid and dominating performance,” explained Orr.

The Bucs will head to Washington High School Saturday for a high-level tournament in the eastern panhandle.

“It’s the Washington Elite Tournament,” concluded Orr. “This is a tough, tough tournament and we’ll get a good gauge of where we are at.”

The results:


Buckhannon-Upshur 48; Lewis County 32


106: Nathaniel Tyson (B-U) won by forfeit
113: Ian Cornett (B-U) won by forfeit
120: Liam Garcia (B-U) won by pin over Jared Flanigan
126: Aidan Wilson (B-U) won by injury default over Brock Mitchell
132: Ethan Skidmore (LC) won by a 12-0 major decision over Colton Wendling
138: Brodee Kennedy (B-U) won by forfeit
145: Nathan Cornett (B-U) won by forfeit
152: Trenton Bush (LC) won by a 14-3 decision over Tucker Hurst
160: Luke Bohnsack (B-U) won by forfeit
170: Kevin Parsons (LC) pinned Trevor Miller-Waycastor
182: Ethan Leavitt (LC) won by forfeit
195: Oscar Blonn (B-U) pinned Britton Farnsworth
220: Tyler Carson (LC)  pinned JT Thompson
285: Dameon Wolfe (LC) won by forfeit

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!