No new candidate filings as deadline passes

BUCKHANNON – No additional city or county candidates filed for office in the May 2022 Primary as the deadline passed Saturday.

However, it’s possible filings could still be received since anyone who filed by U.S. Mail had until 11:59 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 29, for their mailing to be postmarked.

The Upshur County Board of Education race has shaped up to be the largest with 12 candidates running for the three open nonpartisan seats. At most, two people from any one of the three county magisterial districts can be elected to the BOE at one time. Currently, one person from the second and one person from the third are serving terms that expire in two years.

BOE filings haven’t changed since Friday’s update. They include Buck Edwards (District 1), Tom O’Neill (District 1), Robert Osburn (District 1), Sherry Dean (District 2), Harmon George (District 2) and Robert ‘Todd’ Starkey (District 3) all filed for the school board. They join Derrick Aegan (District 3), Dave Chipps (District 1), Jan Craig (District 1), Jesse Davidson (District 3), Roy Wager (District 1) and Brandon Weese (District 2).

The in-person filing period began Monday, Jan. 10, 2022.

Here is the complete list of local filings as of Jan. 31:

City Council (two four-year terms)
Laura Foulks
Shelia Lewis-Sines
David McCauley
David Thomas
Jim Valenson

City Recorder (one four-year term)
Randy Sanders

The last day to withdraw from the municipal election is Feb. 15 and drawing for positions on the ballot will take place at 9 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2022, in the Upshur County Clerk’s Office inside the Upshur County Courthouse. City races are nonpartisan. The filing fee for council is $5 and the fee for city recorder is $7.50. The City of Buckhannon website also has a Call for Election page on their website, which lists precinct locations here.

County Commission (1st Magisterial District)
Sam Nolte (R)

County Clerk
Carol J. Smith (R)

Circuit Clerk
Brian P. Gaudet (R)

Magistrate – Division 1 (unexpired term, non-partisan)
Mark Davis

Magistrate – Division 2 (unexpired term, non-partisan)
Alan Suder
Lindon ‘Lenny’ Stone

Conservation District Supervisor (non-partisan)
Donnie R. Tenney

11th Senatorial District
Bill Hamilton of Buckhannon (R)

64th Delegate District
Adam Burkhammer of Horner (R)

65th Delegate District
Carl “Robbie” Martin of Buckhannon (R)

U.S. House of Representatives (District 2)
Angela J. Dwyer of Martinsburg (D)
Barry Lee Wendell of Morgantown (D)
Susan Buchser-Lochocki of Morgantown (R)
David B. McKinley of Wheeling (R)
Alexander X. Mooney of Charles Town (R)
Mike Seckman of West Union (R)

For more information about filing for office from West Virginia Secretary of State Mac Warner, please click here.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!