Figueroa and Dowell earn Honorable Mention All-State soccer honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers put two players on the 2023 All-State Soccer Team.

Freshman forward Riel Figueroa and junior midfielder Christian Dowell both earned Honorable Mention honors.

The All-State Team is selected by the West Virginia High School Soccer Coaches Association in partnership with the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Figueroa led the Bucs in scoring with 23 goals while adding five assists.

Dowell was second on the team in goals with 10 while contributing two assists.

Both players earned Big 10 All-Conference First Team honors last week. The Region I Soccer Team hasn’t been released yet.

Wheeling Park, Spring Mills, Parkersburg, Woodrow Wilson, Morgantown and Hurricane all put two players on the First Team.



F — Tresz McLeod, Wheeling Park, jr.

F — Isiah Briggs, Spring Mills, jr.

F — Michael Luechauer, George Washington, sr.

F — Landon Shedd, Parkersburg, sr.

M — Aiden Bell, Woodrow Wilson, sr.

M — John Dumas, Bridgeport, sr.

M — Connor Gribble, Parkersburg, sr.

M — Luke Dunaway, Wheeling Park, sr.

M — Peter Furlong, Greenbrier East, sr.

D — Tyler Randolph, Woodrow Wilson, sr.

D — Andrew Landsberger, Spring Mills, sr.

D — Sam Pacyna, Morgantown, sr.

D — Jackson Ahebwa, Hurricane, sr.

D — Ziggy Hirschfeld, Morgantown, sr.

GK — Grayson Maddox, Hurricane, sr.


F — Johann Avarca, Washington, sr.

F — Ian Gadd, Greenbrier East, sr.

F — Quentin Jones, Capital, sr.

F — Andrew Warner, Huntington, jr.

M — Riley Brabson, Morgantown, jr.

M — Thomas Segura, Washington, jr.

M — Sidney Crockett, Spring Mills, sr.

M — Treyson Ambrose, Hurricane, sr.

M — Joel Beeson, Morgantown, sr.

M — Cooper Bell, Woodrow Wilson, sr.

M — Ben Ferguson, Brooke, sr.

M — Johnny Aya-ay, Huntington, sr.

D — Simeon Schray, Huntington, sr.

D — Tobi Adebulu, Parkersburg South, sr.

D — Jacob Boyd, Jefferson, sr.

D — Austin Keyes, Parkersburg, sr.

D — Jordan Gray, Hampshire, sr.

D — Britton Pulley, Spring Valley, sr.

GK — Jace Bennett, Spring Mills, sr.

GK — Joe Cochran, Greenbrier East, sr.


Gavin Albert, St. Albans; Zayden Ambrose, Hurricane; Cordell Ayers, Preston; Brady Blackwell, St. Albans; Yousuf Baryn, Cabell Midland; Gavin Border, Wheeling Park; Landen Cafferelli, Hedgesville; Bryce Carper, Martinsburg; Andrew Coar, Cabell Midland; Jackson Cogar, Bridgeport; Sam Collins, Martinsburg; Tyler Crites, Morgantown; Coby Dillon, Woodrow Wilson; Christian Dowell, Buckhannon-Upshur; Trevor Donley, Jefferson; Brayden Dudley, Parkersburg; Colin Evans, Martinsburg; Riel Figueroa, Buckhannon-Upshur; Ricardo Flores, Jefferson; Yoni Gezhenge, Martinsburg; Wes Goodin, George Washington; Wilson Hannah, Wheeling Park; Holden Hayes, Oak Hill; Chase Hile, Brooke; Davion Huckaby, University; CJ Knapper, George Washington; Alex Lopez Maldonado, University; Jake Pullen, Washington; Jarell Reese, South Charleston; Jaylon Reese, South Charleston; Makiath Riddle, Spring Valley; Parker Riley, Huntington; Nick Sagan, Brooke; Txus Serrato, Riverside; Trenton Timbrook, Hampshire; Brayden Tingler, Parkersburg; Carver Vial, Capital; Toby Wheeler, Cabell Midland; Quinton Wright, Parkersburg.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!