XC Bucs place four in the top 10 as they claim home invitational

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur cross country Buccaneers placed four runners in the top 10 as they grabbed first place in their own invitational last Saturday morning.

Jack Waggy ran second for the Bucs with a time of 18:27.41, Jordan Gillum took fourth with a time of 19:03.36, Reis Leonard placed eighth with a clocking of 20:37.96 and Joey Nolte took 10th with a time of 20:49.83.

The other Buc scoring was Owen Cutright finishing in 14th place with a time of 20:49.83.

Those five finishes helped the Bucs win the team title with 37 points, holding off second place East Fairmont who amassed 47 points. Rounding out the top five of the nine-team event were Lewis County in third with 95 points, Elkins in fourth with 121 points and Tucker County in fifth with 141 points.

The other Bucs running were Alex Sappey in 16th (21:25.79), Brycen Allen in 25th (21:54.04), Brandon Landis in 48th (24:09.30), Jeremy Allen in 49th (24:18.44), Weldon Zirkle in 56th (25:14.66), Ryan Dowell in 73rd (28:15.35) and Ryan Tenney in 74th (30:32.32).

“Saturday was a great day for the boy’s team,” stated Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Taylor Stacy. “The boys really impressed me with younger guys like Joey Nolte and Owen Cutright stepping it up big time. I’m really happy with where we are at this point in the season.”

Lewis County’s Slate Swiger won the individual crown with a time of 18:16.16.

The Bucs will run again this Saturday in Elkins in the Forest Festival Invitational.

The results:


  1. Buckhannon-Upshur 37; 2. East Fairmont 47; 3. Lewis County 95; 4. Elkins 121; 5. Tucker County 141; 6. North Marion 147; 7. South Harrison 173; 8. Lincoln 198; 9. Webster County 202. Robert C. Byrd and Philip Barbour did not field compete teams.


  1. Slate Swiger (Lewis County) – 18:16.16.
  2. Jack Waggy (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 18:27.41
  3. Jordan Gillum (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 19:03.36.
  4. Nathaniel Stuck (East Fairmont) – 19:15.31.
  5. Drew Moore (East Fairmont) – 19:19.25.


Jack Waggy (2nd) – 18:27.41.

Jordan Gillum (3rd) – 19:03.36.

Reis Leonard (8th) – 20:37.96.

Joey Nolte (10th) – 20:49.83.

Owen Cutright (14th) – 21:17.03.

Alex Sappey (16th) – 21:25.79.

Brycen Allen (25th) – 21:54.04.

Brandon Landis (48th) – 24:09.30.

Jeremy Allen (49th) – 24:18.44.

Weldon Zirkle (56th) – 25:14.66.

Ryan Dowell (73rd) – 28:15.35.

Ryan Tenney(74th) – 30:32.32.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!