Close this search box.

Wesleyan lacrosse picked fifth in MEC preseason poll

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Frostburg State was voted to repeat as Mountain East Conference Women’s Lacrosse champions in 2024, following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Frostburg State received four first-place votes and 16 points during preseason balloting. The Bobcats went 12-7 overall a season ago, including a 9-1 mark in MEC play to win the league’s regular season and tournament championships. FSU returns 2023 MEC Offensive Player and Freshman of the Year Neila Haney, as well as all-conference selections Julia Badolato, Camden DeMaio, Delaney Devers and Nicole Gray.

Notre Dame was second in preseason voting with 13 points and the remaining first-place vote. Under first-year head coach Elizabeth Mettler, the Falcons return All-MEC standouts Grace London, Joselyn Storm and Kendra Cole to the lineup this spring. The Falcons went 10-9 a season ago and finished as MEC Tournament runner-up.

Charleston was third in the MEC Preseason Poll with nine points. Following an 8-10 campaign in 2023, UC is under first-year head coach Ryland Luciano and returns All-MEC standouts Gianni Blundell, Tess Yuhas and Kaiya Roberson.

Davis & Elkins (8 points) finished one point behind Charleston during preseason voting to check-in at No. 4. The Senators will be led this season by first team All-MEC goalkeeper Marissa Cuevas and attacker Ari Hinton. West Virginia Wesleyan rounded out the poll with four points.

2024 MEC Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll

  1. Frostburg State (4) – 16
  2. Notre Dame (1) – 13
  3. Charleston – 9
  4. Davis & Elkins – 8
  5. West Virginia Wesleyan – 4

( ) – First-place votes

Coaches unable to vote for own teams

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!