Jessica Grose, a special education aide at Hodgesville Elementary, is named the 2023 West Virginia Service Personnel of the Year.

Upshur County special education aide wins top W.Va. Service Personnel of the Year award

Charleston, W.Va. – The West Virginia Board of Education and the West Virginia Department of Education announced Upshur County’s Jessica Grose as the 2023 West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year.

The announcement was made as part of the Celebration of Excellence in Education: Honoring the 2023 Teacher and School Service Personnel of the Year in Charleston Tuesday evening. WVBE President L. Paul Hardesty and West Virginia Superintendent of Schools David L. Roach were joined by members of the State Board of Education for the occasion which was held at the State Culture Center.

Grose is a special education aide at Hodgesville Elementary School in Buckhannon, West Virginia. She is known as a great team player who commits to serving children whenever she is needed. During her 11 years of service, Grose has made lasting connections with students by making them feel important through her positive attitude and genuineness.

In addition to the support she provides in her school building, Grose volunteers with the Upshur County FFA, the Buckhannon-Upshur High School football team, choir, band, cheerleading team, and Buckhannon #24 International Order of the Rainbow for Girls.

“Ms. Grose has served the students and her school community in many ways for more than a decade,” said Superintendent Roach. “She is someone who is committed, principled and enthusiastic about supporting students and teachers. I am proud that she will represent the best of our school service personnel next year, and I am truly grateful for her years of service inside and outside of the classroom.”

The 2023 finalists include:

Michelle ClarkHarrisville Elementary SchoolRitchie County
Susan ClarkWarm Springs Middle SchoolMorgan County
Jeffrey ColemanJohn Marshall High SchoolMarshall County
Marketa CrumBeale Elementary SchoolMason County
Wendy DodsonJefferson County Schools Central Office 
Mellissa FullerHuff Consolidated Elementary and Middle SchoolWyoming County
Glenna JohnstonPeterson-Central Elementary SchoolLewis County
Kaare MejiasMartinsburg North Middle SchoolBerkeley County
Hannah RexrodeMineral County SchoolsMineral County

The West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year program recognizes outstanding education support personnel for their contributions to their schools and communities. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of their jobs, thereby earning them the respect and admiration of students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents.

As the 2023 winner, Grose will receive $2,500 each from the Horace Mann Companies and Highmark West Virginia; $500 from the West Virginia School Service Personnel Association (WVSSPA), as well as a tumbler and glass ornament; a two-night stay at Twin Falls Resort State Park from West Virginia State Parks; and a piece of art from Blenko Glass Company. All finalists will receive a $25 gift card from Adams Hallmark and all county winners will receive tumblers from WVSSPA and a plaque and certificate from the WVDE.

To view the full ceremony, please visit the YouTube livestream from West Virginia Public Broadcasting or WVDE’s Facebook page.

Information about the WVDE Teacher and Service Personnel of the Year programs as well as pictures of year’s winners are listed on the WVDE website.



The Brushy Fork Event Center is ready to host everything from elegant weddings to corporate conferences. And when things don't go exactly as planned, the skilled staff is ready do what it takes to ensure every event is a success.

City ponders path forward as CVB relinquishes management of the Event Center at Brushy Fork

BUCKHANNON – Starting in April, a new entity will be managing the Event Center at Brushy Fork – but just who that is remains in flux after a lengthy discussion at Buckhannon City Council’s meeting Thursday explored several potential options, […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Support Your Local Restaurants: The Links

By the Secret Chef If you believe life is too short to cook all the time (or maybe never 😉), The Links Restaurant located in the historic Buckhannon Country Club, now open to the public,


Basketball ‘Cats score season-low 38 points in loss to Salem

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s basketball team lost a non-conference matchup to Salem on Wednesday night 74-38. The Bobcats were held to their lowest point total of the season, shooting 17-64 (27%)

WVWC softball picked to win MEC South Divison

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Frostburg State and West Virginia Wesleyan have been picked to win divisional championships during the 2023 Mountain East Conference softball season following a vote of the league’s head coaches. Frostburg State has been picked

Upshur County Sports Calendar

MONDAY (Feb. 6) Basketball TUESDAY (Feb. 7) Basketball Swimming WEDNESDAY (Feb. 8) Basketball Swimming THURSDAY (Feb. 9) Basketball Swimming FRIDAY (Feb. 10) Swimming Wrestling SATURDAY (Feb. 11) Acrobatics and Tumbling Basketball Wrestling SUNDAY (Feb. 12)