The Sago Memorial (file photo)

Sen. Joe Manchin marks the 17th anniversary of the Sago Mine Disaster

WASHINGTON — On Monday, Sen. Joe Manchin remembered the 12 miners killed in the Sago mine 17 years ago.

The explosion on Jan. 2, 2006, trapped 13 miners underground for nearly two days. Only one, Randal McCloy Jr., survived.

“Seventeen years ago today, 12 brave coal miners were tragically lost at the Sago mine,” Manchin said. “My heart still hurts for the families whose loved ones went to work that day and never returned home. Please join me in praying for these families and for the safety of all of our coal miners.”

Manchin was the governor at the time of the explosion.

Thomas Anderson, Alva Bennett, James Bennett, Jerry Groves, George Hamner, Terry Helms, Jesse Jones, David Lewis, Martin Toler Jr., Fred Ware, Jackie Weaver and Marshall Winans were killed in the disaster.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!