MEC announces postseason men’s swimming honors as WVWC’s Walker named Freshmen of the Year

BRIDGEPORT Frostburg State’s Nate Canapp was named the 2023-24 Mountain East Conference Swimmer of the Year on Wednesday afternoon, while West Virginia Wesleyan’s Marcus Walker was recognized as the MEC Freshman of the Year.
Frostburg State head coach Matt Brinton was honored as the league’s Coach of the Year for the second-consecutive season.
Canapp, a junior from Baltimore, Md., is now a two-time MEC Swimmer of the Year, after also earning the honor in 2022-23. Canapp turned in four top-three finishes at the GMAC/MEC Swimming Championships, including a runner-up finish in the 1650 freestyle, and third-place finishes in the 1000 freestyle, 500 freestyle and 400 IM. He recorded the top time in the MEC in the 500, 1000 and 1650 freestyle events, earning first team All-MEC in each event. In addition, Canapp also helped Frostburg State to a fourth-place finish in the 800 free relay at the championship meet.
Walker, a freshman from Santa Clarita, Calif., turned in the top time in the MEC in the 200 breaststroke (2:02.92) during the GMAC/MEC Swimming Championships last month. He also recorded the second-fastest time in the league in the 100 breaststroke (55.76). The freshman holds the West Virginia Wesleyan program record in both events. Additionally, Walker also turned in a top 10 finish in the 400 IM at the championship meet. During regular season meets, Walker was undefeated in the 200 breaststroke event.
Under head coach Matt Brinton, Frostburg State repeated as MEC Men’s and Women’s Swimming Champions in 2023-24. In the final women’s standings, Frostburg State scored 964.50 points, while the men finished the four-day championship meet with 1,303 points.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!