Four Lady Bucs earn Big 10 All-Conference softball honors

TENNERTON – Four Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs were named to the 2024 Big 10 All-Conference Softball Team that was recently announced.

Kynnedy Marple and Taylor Spratt were named to the First Team while Jansen Kimble and Alyssa Abel were named to the Second Team.

Marple was named to the First Team as a second baseman.  As a freshman, she led the Lady Bucs in hitting with a .394 batting average in 32 games collecting 43 hits in 109 at bats. She also hit one home run and drove in 14 runs while scoring 42 times. She was second on the team in stolen bases with 18. In the circle, she pitched 45 innings and posted a 5-5 record with an earned-run-average of 7.17.

Spratt was named to the First Team as a right fielder. As a junior, she hit .358 in 27 games, going 29-for-81 at the plate. She hit three home runs and drove in 26 runs while scoring 16.

Kimble and Abel both landed on the Second Team as utility players.

Kimble, a senior, was the workhorse of the Lady Buc pitching staff, throwing a team-high 103 innings. She compiled a 9-7 record with an earned-run-average of 4.35. She struck out 93 batters. At the plate, she was fourth on the team in hitting with a .345 average. She managed 33 hits in 95 at-bats driving in 30 runs while scoring 27.

Abel, a junior, was second on the team in hitting with a .374 batting average collecting 40 hits in 107 at-bats. She led the team, along with Kailey Hart, in home runs with six while driving in a team-best 39 runs while scoring 32.

Avery McDaniel of Philip Barbour was the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year while Lillie Crimm of Grafton was named the Pitcher of the Year. Philip Barbour’s Amanda McDaniel was named the Coach of the Year.



Pitcher – Mackenzie Davis (Robert C. Byrd)

Catcher – Gina Alvaro (Robert C. Byrd)

First Base – Michaela Egidi (Fairmont Senior)

Second Base – Kynnedy Marple (Buckhannon-Upshur)

Third Base – Courtney Boggs (Lewis County)

Shortstop – Alexis Williams (Lincoln)

Left Field – Preslee Fincham (Philip Barbour)

Center Field – Katie Kennedy (Philip Barbour)

Right Field – Taylor Spratt (Buckhannon-Upshur)

Utility – Katelyn Cooper (Philip Barbour)

Utility – Hailey Riffle (Elkins)

Utility – Myla Wotring (Preston)

Utility – Macey Franklin (Lewis County)


Pitcher – Rayden Satterfield (North Marion)

Catcher – Courtney Hartley (Lewis County)

First Base – Payton Holbert (Philip Barbour)

Second Base – Reagan Ash (North Marion)

Third Base –  Riley Pearlman (Lincoln)

Shortstop – Kaelyn Mullins (Lewis County)

Left Field – Jade Hall (Grafton)

Center Field – Kaylie Kwiatkowski (Bridgeport)

Right Field – Rhea Yokum (Lewis County)

Utility – Jansen Kimble (Buckhannon-Upshur)

Utility – Alyssa Abel (Buckhannon-Upshur)

Utility – Ruth Horne (Grafton)

Utility – Isabella Talkington (North Marion)

Conference Player of the Year – Avery McDaniel (Philip Barbour)

Conference Pitcher of the Year –Lillie Crimm (Grafton)

Conference Coach of the Year – Amanda McDaniel (Philip Barbour)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!