Four Lady Bobcats claim All-MEC Lacrosse honors

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – The Mountain East Conference today announced its postseason award winners and all-conference teams for the 2024 women’s lacrosse season.

Frostburg State attacker Neila Haney repeated as the MEC Offensive Player of the Year in 2024, while FSU midfielder Maura O’Neill was voted Defensive Player of the Year. Additionally, Bobcat head coach Taylor Cline was named the 2024 MEC Coach of the Year.

Davis & Elkins’ Zoe Mackey is the league’s Freshman of the Year.

Haney, a sophomore from Lino Lakes, Minn., scored 49 goals and passed out 22 assists to lead Frostburg State to an undefeated record in MEC play this spring. Haney has a .769 shots on goal percentage and also totaled 59 draw controls and 28 groundballs this season. She netted three game-winning goals for the Bobcats, who have an 11-5 overall record this season.

O’Neill, a graduate student from Bel Air, Md., totaled 14 goals and 17 assists for the Bobcats, while helping lead a defensive effort that ranks first in the league and 20th in the country in scoring defense (9.00). As a midfielder, O’Neill totaled 35 caused turnovers and controlled 30 groundballs this season. The Bobcat defense also ranks 19th nationally in scoring margin (6.19) and is fifth in caused turnovers (14.19) this season.

Cline, Frostburg State’s fourth-year head coach, earned MEC Coach of the Year honors for the third-consecutive season. Her Bobcats have an 11-5 overall record, including an 8-0 mark in league play this season. The Bobcats enter postseason play on a seven-game winning streak.

Mackey, a freshman from Morgantown, West Virginia, totaled one goal and three assists as a defender this season for the Senators. On the defensive end of the field, Mackey totaled 39 caused turnovers and controlled 37 groundballs. Her lone goal of the season, against Thiel University, was the game-winner back on March 18. She recorded two of her three assists against Felician on Feb. 18.

The All-MEC honorees and All-Freshman Team are listed below. The MEC postseason awards and all-conference teams are selected following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

2024 All-MEC First Team
ANeila HaneyFrostburg State
AAri HintonDavis & Elkins
AMadison PartridgeCharleston
ADarby StolzCharleston
MGianni BlundellCharleston
MKerri HayesFrostburg State
MNicolette LospitalierCharleston
MMaura O’NeillFrostburg State
DJessie BareFrostburg State
DOlivia EspositoCharleston
DZoe MackeyDavis & Elkins
GMegan ListonCharleston
2024 All-MEC Second Team
ATalia BerardoWest Va. Wesleyan
ACamden DeMaioFrostburg State
MMakenzi LewellynWest Va. Wesleyan
MIzzie SevilaDavis & Elkins
DAllyssa GreaverCharleston
DIzzy KellyFrostburg State
DRaveena NavalgundWest Va. Wesleyan
DKimmy WinokerDavis & Elkins
GNicole GrayFrostburg State
2024 All-MEC Honorable Mention
A: Jessica Dwyer (Davis & Elkins)
M: Ella Russano (Charleston)
D: Megan Keller (Frostburg State)
G: Marissa Cuevas (Davis & Elkins)
2024 MEC All-Freshman Team
ATalia BerardoWest Va. Wesleyan
AJessica DwyerDavis & Elkins
DZoe MackeyDavis & Elkins
AErin MobleyWest Va. Wesleyan
MElla RussanoChaleston
AHayden SlinkardCharleston
MKe’ya StevensDavis & Elkins
2024 Women’s Lacrosse Top Honors
Offensive Player of the Year: Neila Haney (Frostburg State)
Defensive Player of the Year: Maura O’Neill (Frostburg State)
Freshman of the Year: Zoe Mackey (Davis & Elkins)
Coach of the Year: Taylor Cline (Frostburg State)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!