Basketball ‘Cats shutout of postseason MEC awards

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – West Liberty’s Bryce Butler highlighted the 2022-23 Mountain East Conference Men’s Basketball postseason awards and all-conference teams by being named the league’s Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season on Tuesday afternoon. Butler is the third player in league history to repeat as Player of the Year, joining Seger Bonifant (2015, 2016) and Dalton Bolon (2020, 2021).

Charleston’s CJ Meredith was voted the MEC Freshman of the Year for the 2022-23 season, while Davis & Elkins head coach Daniel Mondragon was named the Coach of the Year.

Butler is joined on the All-MEC first team by Wheeling’s John Korte, Concord’s Daniel Rahama, Davis & Elkins’ Sam Rolle IV, Fairmont State’s Isaiah Sanders, Glenville State’s Jordan Turbo Smith, Charleston’s Keith Williams, and Notre Dame’s Jaedon Willis.

Butler, a junior guard from Latrobe, Pa., led the MEC in scoring (22.5) and ranked fifth in the league in rebounding (7.25) during the 2022-23 campaign. He also ranked fourth in the league in shooting percentage (.592) and was eighth in the league in assists per game (3.64). Butler finished the regular season with three 30-point scoring performances, 21 20-point scoring performances and seven double-doubles. Butler was also a five-time MEC Player of the Week this season and ranks 11th in the nation in scoring and 25th in field goal percentage.

Meredith, from Huntington, W.Va., was voted the Freshman of the Year after averaging 9.4 points and 2.9 rebounds per game for the Golden Eagles. He shot 52.6 percent from the floor and made 27 3-pointers on the season. Meredith also added 43 assists, 22 blocked shots and 16 steals to his stat line during the 2022-23 season.

Davis & Elkins fourth-year head coach Daniel Mondragon is the MEC Coach of the Year after leading the Senators to an 18-10 overall record and the No. 6 seed in this week’s MEC Tournament. D&E enters this week’s tournament on a four-game winning streak and earned its highest seed in program history. This season, Davis & Elkins reached the 18-win mark for the first time since the 1954-55 season. The Senators also have a winning record for the first time since the 1980-81 season.

In addition to the All-MEC first team and postseason award winners, the conference also recognized second team and honorable mention all-conference teams (listed below). The MEC postseason awards and all-conference teams are selected following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

2023 All-MEC First Team
Bryce ButlerWest LibertyJr.G6-5Latrobe, Pa.
John KorteWheelingSr.F6-6Watertown, Mass.
Daniel RahamaConcordGr.F6-5Newport News, Va.
Sam Rolle IVDavis & ElkinsJr.G5-11Riviera Beach, Fla.
Isaiah SandersFairmont StateGr.G/F6-5Sicklerville, N.J.
Jordan Turbo SmithGlenville StateJr.G6-1Titusville, Fla.
Keith WilliamsCharlestonSr.G6-2Sandusky, Ohio
Jaedon WillisNotre DameSr.G6-0Baltimore, Md.
2023 All-MEC Second Team
Tyler EberhartCharlestonSo.F6-7Springfield, Ohio
Samier KinslerWest Virginia St.So.G6-2Philadelphia, Pa.
Jalen KnottAlderson BroaddusSo.G6-2Cleveland Heights, Ohio
George MangasFairmont StateSo.G/F6-4Lima, Ohio
Malik McKinneyWest LibertySr.G6-3Bowie, Md.
Christian MontagueWest LibertyJr.G6-1Dayton, Ohio
Jason MurphyFrostburg StateR-Jr.C6-9Baltimore, Md.
Malik WhitakerWest Virginia St.Jr.G/F6-6Humble, Texas
Freddie WordGlenville StateJr.G6-1Fort Myers, Fla.
2022 All-MEC Honorable Mention
DeAirius BarkerNotre DameR-So.G6-0Cincinnati, Ohio
Eddie Colbert IIICharlestonJr.F6-6Toledo, Ohio
Zyon DobbsFairmont StateSr.G6-4Fairmont, W.Va.
JJ HarperConcordJr.G6-5Gotha, Fla.
Anthony PittmanWest Virginia St.R-Jr.F6-5Charleston, W.Va.
Breland WaltonDavis & ElkinsR-Sr.F6-5Beckley, W.Va.

Player of the Year: Bryce Butler (West Liberty)
Freshman of the Year: CJ Meredith (Charleston)
Coach of the Year: Daniel Mondragon (Davis & Elkins)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!