B-U’s Cale, Hollen and Andrew earn Big 10 All-Conference soccer honors

TENNERTON – Chloe Cale earned First Team honors while Ava Hollen and Allison Andrew were named to the Second Team for the Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs on the 2022 Big 10 All-Conference Girls Soccer Team.

Cale was named as a forward on the First Team while Hollen was named as a forward and Andrew as a defender on the Second Team.

Cale had four goals and four assists for the Lady Bucs.

Hollen led the team with 16 goals and six assists.

Andrew didn’t record any offensive statistics from her defensive center back position.

The Lady Bucs posted an 11-9-2 record.

Philip Barbour led all teams with four First Team selections.

Philip Barbour swept the individual awards as Braylen Sparks was named the Player of the Year by the Big 10 while her coach Blake Williams was selected as the Coach of the Year.


First Team


Chloe Cale – Buckhannon-Upshur

Addy Cogar – Elkins

Hadley Home – Grafton

Gabby Reep – Bridgeport

Arrington Sparks – Philip Barbour


Adaline Cinalli – Fairmont Senior

Layna Grassi – Philip Barbour

Kate Gribben – Fairmont Senior

Olivia Lowther – Robert C. Byrd

Kierstyn Maxey – East Fairmont

Braylyn Sparks – Philip Barbour


Kylie Bender – Bridgeport

Alyssa Dunn – Robert C. Byrd

Carlie Ice – East Fairmont

Darcy Knight – Philip Barbour


Delaney Haller – Lincoln

Second Team


Ava Hollen – Buckhannon-Upshur

Maddie Lott – East Fairmont

Alexia Price – Elkins

Payton Riley – Lincoln


Elisa Dinaldo – Bridgeport

Emma Elliot – Liberty

Anna Hutchinson – Bridgeport

Leah Paugh – East Fairmont

Kierson Posey – Lincoln

Lillyan Toth – Lincoln


Allison Andrew – Buckhannon-Upshur

Laney Fletcher – Elkins

Maura Stark – Fairmont Senior


Gracelin Conley – Elkins

Kayla Moore – North Marion

Kadence Whitehair – Preston

Player of the Year – Braylyn Sparks (Philip Barbour)

Coach of the Year – Blake Williams (Philip Barbour)



Commission, Upshur Schools to consider partnership to resurface tennis courts at county Recreational Park

BUCKHANNON – Members of the Upshur County Board of Education did not appear to find any ‘fault’ with a proposal to resurface the tennis courts located near Buckhannon-Upshur High School. In fact, the group spoke favorably about the plan served […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Fish Hawk Acres invites the community to events in December

BUCKHANNON – Mark your calendar: Fish Hawk Acres will offer several exciting events this month. Experience the fun and fine dining of Fish Hawk Acres through their Wine Clubs, Market Dinners and other special events.


Lady ‘Cats tumble to West Liberty, 88-47

WEST LIBERTY, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan (0-3, 0-3) women’s basketball team dropped a road game to West Liberty (4-2, 3-0) on Wednesday (Nov. 30) night in West Liberty, W.Va. WVWC LeadersCourtney Wilfong had

Three Lady Bucs earn Big 10 All-Conference postseason volleyball honors

TENNERTON – Three Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs were honored on the recently announced Big 10 All-Conference Volleyball team. Senior Kendal Currence earned First Team honors while sophomore Alyssa Abel and senior Tori Perkins were named to the Second Team. The Lady […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.


DHHR announces reporting structure changes and hiring freeze

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Bill J. Crouch, Cabinet Secretary of the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources (DHHR), today announced additional changes as a result of the organizational study of DHHR by the McChrystal

Turnpike traffic exceeds estimates early Thanksgiving week

CHARLESTON, WV – Traffic on the West Virginia Turnpike was heavier than expected the first two days of the Thanksgiving travel week. From Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2022, through Sunday, Nov. 27, 2022, 721,114 vehicles passed