John Young Memorial Award presentation
The B-U Class of 1968 raised more than $4,000 for the John Young Memorial Award. From left are Sharon McNemar '68, B-UHS principal Eddie Vincent, athletic director Rick Reynolds and Jake Anderegg '68.

B-U Class of 68 raises $4,000 in memory of classmate killed in Marshall plane crash

The Buckhannon-Upshur High School Class of 1968 honored a deceased classmate by raising more than $4,000 in his memory as part of their 50th reunion this summer.

John Young was one of 75 people killed when a plane carrying members of the Marshall University football team crashed near Huntington on Nov. 14, 1970. Young, who played tight-end for the state champion 1966 football Buccaneers, was a sophomore with the Thundering Herd when the plane crashed.

He was 20 years old, the middle of five Young siblings: oldest sister Sally, older sister Suzanne, younger sister Camella and youngest brother G.O.

In his memory, Buckhannon-Upshur High School has awarded the John Young Award to the best senior male athlete every year since 1971. The winners are recognized with a plaque and included in a trophy case at the school.

John Young
John Young

“John Young was an exceptional athlete in football, basketball and track at Buckhannon-Upshur High School, and the Class of 1968’s classmate and friend,” reads the Class of 68’s reunion website. “After John’s death, the B-UHS Class of 1968 established the ‘John Young Memorial Award’ and created a place in the trophy case at the high school in John’s memory.”

To replenish the fund, classmates sold pictures from the Howard Hiner collection and solicited donations during their 50th Reunion. A total of 65 photos – donated by Danny Green – were auctioned off. Other classes also made donations to the fund.

Classmates raised $4,000 in total – more than tripling the fund’s resources.

Sharon McNemar and Jake Anderegg were on hand to present the check to B-UHS principal Eddie Vincent and athletic director Rick Reynolds Wednesday morning.

Part of the funds will be used to modernize the display at the school.

“We just want to make sure this carries on in perpetuity,” McNemar said of the award, which now lists 48 names.

Anderegg reflected on his memories of Young from their days together on the gridiron.

“During the state championship football game, John caught a touchdown pass. It was tipped and landed in his hands,” Anderegg said.

A complete list of John Young Award recipients:

  • 1971 – Richard Snyder
  • 1972 – G. O. Young
  • 1973 – Randall Tenney
  • 1974 – Jeffrey Hefner
  • 1975 – Dale Zopp
  • 1976 – Mickey Tenney
  • 1977 – Jeffrey Godwin
  • 1978 – Darrell Cable
  • 1979 – Brian Hinkle
  • 1980 – Scott R. McDaniels
  • 1981 – John Poundstone
  • 1982 – Brad Westfall
  • 1983 – Mike Hinkle
  • 1984 – Scott Shaver
  • 1985 – Steve Hamrick
  • 1986 – Tim L. McNemar
  • 1987 – Tom Moore
  • 1988 – Robert Kittle
  • 1989 – Eric Fluke
  • 1990 – Bill Smarr
  • 1991 – Dustin Bush
  • 1992 – Doug Dean
  • 1993 – Jay Whitehair
  • 1994 – Scott Hollen
  • 1995 – Melvin Woody
  • 1996 – Robert Akers
  • 1997 – Matt McDaniels
  • 1998 – Fred Trainer III
  • 1999 – Josh Westfall
  • 2000 – Joey Mayle
  • 2001 – John Egress
  • 2002 – Jeremiah McCourt
  • 2003 – James Egress
  • 2004 – Zackery Allman
  • 2005 – Brandon DeMasters
  • 2006 – Keith Branch
  • 2007 – Ryan Godwin
  • 2008 – Will Squires
  • 2009 – Franklin “Linn” Baxa
  • 2010 – Chase Long
  • 2011 – Adam Brumley
  • 2012 – Matt Loughney
  • 2013 – Dalton Westfall
  • 2014 – Seth Cutright
  • 2015 – Cole Payne
  • 2016 – Marcus Lofton
  • 2017 – Cam Payne
  • 2018 – Taylor Whitehair



The Brushy Fork Event Center is ready to host everything from elegant weddings to corporate conferences. And when things don't go exactly as planned, the skilled staff is ready do what it takes to ensure every event is a success.

City ponders path forward as CVB relinquishes management of the Event Center at Brushy Fork

BUCKHANNON – Starting in April, a new entity will be managing the Event Center at Brushy Fork – but just who that is remains in flux after a lengthy discussion at Buckhannon City Council’s meeting Thursday explored several potential options, […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Support Your Local Restaurants: The Links

By the Secret Chef If you believe life is too short to cook all the time (or maybe never 😉), The Links Restaurant located in the historic Buckhannon Country Club, now open to the public,


Basketball ‘Cats score season-low 38 points in loss to Salem

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s basketball team lost a non-conference matchup to Salem on Wednesday night 74-38. The Bobcats were held to their lowest point total of the season, shooting 17-64 (27%)

WVWC softball picked to win MEC South Divison

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Frostburg State and West Virginia Wesleyan have been picked to win divisional championships during the 2023 Mountain East Conference softball season following a vote of the league’s head coaches. Frostburg State has been picked

Upshur County Sports Calendar

MONDAY (Feb. 6) Basketball TUESDAY (Feb. 7) Basketball Swimming WEDNESDAY (Feb. 8) Basketball Swimming THURSDAY (Feb. 9) Basketball Swimming FRIDAY (Feb. 10) Swimming Wrestling SATURDAY (Feb. 11) Acrobatics and Tumbling Basketball Wrestling SUNDAY (Feb. 12)