West Virginia Wesleyan inducts 24 new members into Omicron Delta Kappa

BUCKHANNON, West Virginia — The West Virginia Wesleyan College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) conducted its 59th annual induction on March 25, 2022, in the Meditation Chapel.  The circle inducted eight seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores, three graduate students, one faculty and one staff member.

The Wesleyan Circle of ODK was established in 1963 and has inducted over 1,100 students, faculty, and staff.  Student eligibility is based on the top 35 percent of each class in scholarship, as well as participation in one of the following:  athletics, music, arts, journalism and community service.

Newly inducted members include:  seniors Madelyn Brewer, Petersburg, West Virginia;  Alexandra Garrett, Linn, West Virginia, Emily Keesucker, Sutton, West Virginia, Sydney Maxwell, Buckhannon, West Virginia, Keearrah Poe, Griffithsville, West Virginia, Baylee Senator, Chapmanville, West Virginia, Jadyn Tavekelian, Plymouth, Massachusetts, and Haley Zinn, Tunnelton, West Virginia.  Juniors Heather Bokey, Bridgeport, West Virginia, Elizabeth Harvey, Cross Lanes, West Virginia, Katherine Marks, Wellsburg, West Virginia, Amanda Marteney, Buckhannon, West Virginia; Amanda Schlor, Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, Kevin Shrewsbury, Scott Depot, West Virginia, and Abby Wetzel, Clarksburg, West Virginia.  Sophomores Julie O’Neill, Bunker Hill, West Virginia, Thomas Onks, Cross Lanes, West Virginia, Hannah Povroznik, Bridgeport, West Virginia, and Megan E. Noss, Kingwood, West Virginia.  Graduate student inductees included Kyle Abram, Irwin, Pennsylvania, Melissa Franke, Philippi, West Virginia, and Amanda Jones, Elkins, West Virginia. 

Also inducted were Dr. Debra Dean-Murphy, associate professor of philosophy and religious studies, and John Waltz, vice president for enrollment management.

Participating in the ceremony were Dr. Thomas Smith ’84, faculty advisor, Alisa Lively, Dean of Students and Jessica Vincent ‘12, director for community engagement.  Officers participating included Mari-Jane McLeod, president, Molly Milleson, vice president, and Sydney McDonald, treasurer.  Student officers for the 2022-2023 academic year include Mari-Jane McLeod, president; Kevin Shrewsbury, vice president, and Hannah Povroznik, treasurer. 

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on December 3, 1914, on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, VA.  The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that leadership at the collegiate level should be recognized and encouraged across all phases of campus life. 

The motives which guided the founders sprang from the desire to bring together one body for the general good of the institution, leaders from all parts of the college or university community.  The success of the ODK idea, an essential part of which is its inter-generational nature and a determination to maintain a consistent and high standard of leadership recognition, led to the establishment of chapters, which are called circles, at other colleges.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!