2022 Upshur County Commission President Kristie Tenney will serve another calendar year as head of commission. / Photos by Katie Kuba

Tenney selected to serve a third term as commission president

BUCKHANNON – By the end of 2023, Upshur County Commissioner Kristie Tenney will have three terms as commission president under her belt.

Tenney, who was first elected president in 2021 and also served in 2022, was tapped for a third term as president of the commission at its first meeting of 2023 on Jan. 5.

Commissioner Sam Nolte suggested that recently appointed commissioner Doug Bush should probably get some more experience in his post before serving as president.

“Would you be interested in serving another year?” Nolte said. “I think Doug should probably get another year in his position.”           

Tenney agreed, and Nolte made a motion to nominate her as president which was seconded by Bush prior to passing unanimously.

Tenney takes the oath of office, which was administered by Upshur County Clerk Carol Smith at the commission’s Jan. 5, 2023 meeting.

The commission voted to meet weekly at 9 a.m. Thursdays in Room 301 on the third floor of the Upshur County Courthouse Annex unless otherwise noted.

“I would probably make a recommendation that we just stick with the same schedule we had last year and schedule weekly meetings and then if we need to cancel, we can cancel as needed,” Nolte said.

In addition, the commissioners approved local rules for commission meetings, one of which stipulates that agenda items, meetings, presentations and appointments must be received no later than noon three business days prior to the meeting date. Anyone who wishes to address the commission who is not already listed on the agenda is required to register within 15 minutes of the start of the meeting.

The commission approved a variety of board appointments and made the following changes to those listed in the commission packet:

  • Doug Bush will serve on the Upshur County Farmland Protection Board in place of Tenney, and in exchange, Tenney will serve on the Region VII Planning & Development Council board.
  • Nolte will serve on the Court Security Advisory Board and as one of the directors of the Upshur County Development Association, Inc. Board in place of the late commissioner Terry Cutright.  

Prior to adjourning, the commission also took the following actions:

  • Set the Upshur County Courthouse, Courthouse Annex and Administrative Annex hours for 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday with the exception of designated holidays and administrative closures.
  • Approved the holiday schedule and administrative closures for the 2023 calendar year
  • Approved the appointment of Cheryl Lewis to the Upshur County Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Directors as a tourism industry representative. Her term is effective immediately.
  • Approved the appointment of Mark Best as a volunteer for the Upshur County Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management.
  • Approved the appointment of Amy Snyder and Stacie Williams as Lewis-Upshur Animal Control Facility volunteers.
  • Approved authorizing Upshur County Administrator Tabatha Perry to sign the grant contract, resolution, certifications, standard conditions and assurances for a grant award in the amount of $15,000 to fund the Prevention Resource Officer position at Buckhannon-Upshur High School.
  • Approved participating in the West Virginia Division of Highways Non-State-Owned Bridge Program funded through the federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act and signing a resolution to enter into a contractual agreement with the W.Va. Department of Transportation’s Division of Highways.



Consolidated board determines North Kanawha will remain a two-way street

BUCKHANNON – The Consolidated Public Works Board voted to keep North Kanawha Street a two-way street after previously considering making it a one-way road. The CPWB took up two previously discussed traffic items during their Jan. 26 meeting. The board […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Barbour County man arrested for alleged sexual abuse of a juvenile in his care

BUCKHANNON — A Barbour County man who is listed on the West Virginia State Police’s Sex Offender Registry has been arrested for the alleged sexual abuse of a minor in his care. Kenneth D. Call, 52, of Belington, W.Va., was […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Buckhannon: Then & Now – Big snow in Upshur County

Buckhannon: Then & Now. Join us in showcasing Upshur County throughout history and today. Much like today, Buckhannon has experienced major snow accumulations throughout history. Pictured here, Buckhannon received a record breaking accumulation of 40

County commission tasks new owner of Holly Apartments with cleaning up the site, will reevaluate in 90 days

BUCKHANNON – The Upshur County Commission has given the new owners of the Holly Apartments building in Adrian 90 days to clean up the property. The Holly Apartments were considered a total loss after a fire spread throughout the whole […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.


Wesleyan lacrosse picked fifth in MEC preseason poll

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – West Virginia Wesleyan women’s lacrosse has been selected to finish fifth in the Mountain East Conference, the league announced today. WVWC totaled nine points in the vote. Frostburg State and Notre Dame College tied

Swim Bucs head into Saturday’s conference championship meet coming off strong final performance at home

BUCKHANNON — The Buckhannon-Upshur High School boys and girls swim teams will head into the Big 10 Conference Championships on Saturday with the current at their backs after winning 10 events in their final home meet of the season. The […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Owens steps down as head coach of Lady Bobcat soccer program

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – Richard Owens has resigned as head coach of the West Virginia Wesleyan women’s soccer program, WVWC Athletic Department announced on Thursday. Owens spent five seasons as head coach of the Lady Bobcats,


Canaan Valley Resort to ski clinic for women Feb. 25-26

Davis, W.Va. (January 2023) – Offering more than seven hours of group and personalized ski instruction in a fun and supportive environment, Canaan Valley Resort will host a ski clinic for women by women February

Winter Blues Farmers Market returns Feb. 25

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Winter Blues is back! The indoor farmers market makes its return on Saturday, February 25. More than 60 vendors from across West Virginia will be on hand to sell products grown and