Four Lady Bucs earn honors on Big 10 All-Conference soccer squad

TENNERTON – Four Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs made the 2023 Big 10 All-Conference Soccer that was voted on by league coaches.

Representing the Lady Bucs on the All-Conference Team were senior Allison Andrew, juniors Hannah Boyles and Grace Queen and sophomore Sidney Hollen.

All four Lady Bucs were represented on the Second Team.

Andew was named to the Second Team as a defender. She was a shutdown defender that helped the Lady Bucs post seven shutout wins. She also tallied two goals.

Boyles, Queen, and Hollen were all selected to the Second Team as midfielders.

Boyles was second on the team in goals with 10 and added six assists. Queen was third on the team in goals with nine while contributing one assist. Hollen tallied two goals and five assists.

The Lady Bucs ended the season with a 13-6-4 overall record and finished fifth in the conference with a 7-1-4 mark out of 13 teams advancing to the Region I final where they fell to eventual Class AAA champion Morgantown.

Philip Barbour, which won the conference title and was runner-up in the state in Class AA, won both individual awards as Braylyn Sparks was named the Player of the Year and her coach Blake Williams was named the Coach of the Year.




Eryn Ashcraft (Fr.) – Lincoln

Addy Cogar (Jr.) – Elkins

Ava Hollen (Sr.) – Bridgeport

Hadley Horne (Jr.) — Grafton

Brooklyn Shupe (Soph.) – East Fairmont

Arrington Sparks (Sr.) – Philip Barbour

Corrinne Vilain (Jr.) – Liberty


Darby Bailey (Jr.) – Elkins

Layna Grassi (Sr.) – Philip Barbour

Kierstyn Maxey (Sr.) – East Fairmont

Braylyn Sparks (Sr.)  — Philip Barbour

Lillyan Toth (Soph.) – Lincoln


Elisa Dinaldo (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Carlie Ice (Sr.) – East Fairmont

Payton Riley (Sr.) – Lincoln


Kadence Whitehair (Jr.) – Preston



Rylee Bodkins (Sr.) – Philip Barbour

Maura Stark (Sr.) – Fairmont Senior


Eden Ashcraft (Jr.) – Lincoln

Hannah Boyles (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Abby Greene (Sr.) – Fairmont Senior

Sidney Hollen (Soph.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Grace Queen (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Shaelin Smith (Sr.) – Lewis County

Ava Starkey (Sr.) – Robert C. Byrd

Hailey Williams (Soph.) – Robert C. Byrd


Allison Andrew (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Briana Fisher (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Laney Fletcher (Sr.) – Elkins

Martina Howe (Sr.) – Robert C. Byrd

Jorjalynn Ward (Sr.) – Philip Barbour


Kayla Moore (Sr.) – North Marion

Player of the Year – Braylyn Sparks (Philip Barbour)

Coach of the Year – Blake Williams (Philip Barbour)

Conference Champions – Philip Barbour

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!