Upshur County Courthouse
Upshur County Courthouse

Final! Election night dispatches from the Upshur County Courthouse

Hello all! My Buckhannon will be posting periodic updates from inside the Upshur County Courthouse tonight as the election results roll in. Refresh this page early and often. Scroll down for the latest results.

Update 9 p.m.

And we’re done Upshur County! Before you scroll to the results, let’s give County Clerk Carol Smith a hand for running the election so smoothly. Total voter turnout was 56.81 percent with 7,648 people voting in Upshur County.

Update 8:45

Just five districts are left and the courthouse is filling up. Most of the local races are all but decided, but a few of the statewide positions are still up for grabs.

Update 8:35

Wow, these new voting machines are the bomb dot com! We’ve got 13 precincts reporting already. Results updated below. We’re still waiting on the outer districts to roll in, like Arlington and Selbyville.

Update 8:25

Our first precincts are in! Check below for the results.

Update 8:15

Light crowd trickling into the courthouse — a few candidates and the usual group of local media. No results from Upshur have been released, but a few counties are reporting statewide results.

Update: 7:30 p.m.

Here we go! Polls have closed in West Virginia. The new hybrid paper/electronic voting machines in Upshur County should make short work of vote counting process, but as this is the first election they’ve been used in, it’s always good to expect the unexpected. We’ll be updating vote totals as the come in.

Latest unofficial local results (21 of 21 precincts reporting)

Upshur County Commission
Kristie Tenney – 6,065
Kevin Campbell – 1,178

Upshur County Clerk
Carol Smith – 5,577
Yvette Squires – 1,863

Unofficial statewide results (Upshur County)

W.Va. Senate – 11th District
Bill Hamilton – 23,534 (6,177)
Laura Finch – 9,872 (1,270)

House of Delegates 44th District
Caleb Hannah – 3,023 (502)
Dana Lynch – 1,789 (274)

House of Delegates 45th District
Carl ‘Robbie’ Martin – 3,979 (3,979)
Matthew Kerner – 1,893 (1,893)

House of Delegates 46th District
Patrick Martin – 3,260 (565)
Bob Stultz – 2,079 (215)

U.S. Senate
Patrick Morrisey – 255,222 (3,996)
Joe Manchin – 275,940 (3,087)

U.S. House of Delegates – 2nd District
Alex Mooney – 106,118 (4,590)
Talley Sargent – 84,630 (2,602)

Constitutional Amendment One
For – 280,255 (4,193)
Against – 263,681 (3,238)

Constitutional Amendment Two
For – 368,078 (5,234)
Against – 140,419 (1,742)

Note: State results as reported by the Secretary of State.



Board of Education votes to extend interim superintendent’s contract

BUCKHANNON – The contract of the interim superintendent of Upshur County Schools has been extended for one year. The Upshur County Board of Education on Tuesday voted 3-0 – with two abstentions – to extend the contract of interim superintendent […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

The Brushy Fork Event Center is ready to host everything from elegant weddings to corporate conferences. And when things don't go exactly as planned, the skilled staff is ready do what it takes to ensure every event is a success.

City ponders path forward as CVB relinquishes management of the Event Center at Brushy Fork

BUCKHANNON – Starting in April, a new entity will be managing the Event Center at Brushy Fork – but just who that will be remains in flux after a lengthy discussion at Buckhannon City Council’s meeting Thursday. The Upshur County […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Support Your Local Restaurants: The Links

By the Secret Chef If you believe life is too short to cook all the time (or maybe never 😉), The Links Restaurant located in the historic Buckhannon Country Club, now open to the public,


Wrestling Bucs split home tri with John Marshall and Oak Hill; prepare for Big 10 Conference championships this Friday and Saturday

BUCKHANNON – The Buckhannon-Upshur wrestling Bucs had one final tune-up before they hit the post season with a home tri-outing with John Marshall Monarchs and Oak Hill Red Devils this past weekend. The Bucs dropped a 45-24 decision to John […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Basketball ‘Cats score season-low 38 points in loss to Salem

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s basketball team lost a non-conference matchup to Salem on Wednesday night 74-38. The Bobcats were held to their lowest point total of the season, shooting 17-64 (27%)

WVWC softball picked to win MEC South Divison

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Frostburg State and West Virginia Wesleyan have been picked to win divisional championships during the 2023 Mountain East Conference softball season following a vote of the league’s head coaches. Frostburg State has been picked