B-U’s Calef-Boring, Tenney earn Class AAA All-State Baseball honors

CHARLESTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur baseball team was represented by two players on the 2022 Class AAA All-State Baseball Team that was voted on by the West Virginia Sports Writer’s Association (WVSWA).

Junior Zach Calef-Boring was named to the All-State Second Team while senior Cameron Tenney was selected to the Honorable Mention Team.

Calef-Boring was named as an outfielder, while Tenney played second base for the Bucs.

Calef-Boring, who previously earned Second-Team Big 10 All-Conference honors, led the Buccaneer team in hitting with a .416 average collecting 42 hits in 101 at-bats. He had 10 doubles and four triples while stealing 22 bases. He scored 33 runs and knocked in 15 while striking out just two times in 111 plate appearances. On the mound, he pitched 22 innings with nine appearances posting two wins.

Tenney won the 2022 John L. Tenney Memorial Award, an award voted on by the Buckhannon-Upshur coaching staff, for the senior who displays the most athletic ability, character and leadership skills.

Tenney collected 35 hits in 90 at-bats for an impressive .389 batting average, which was second on the team. He also had nine extra-base hits, scored 23 runs and drove in 20 runs in 29 games.

Bridgeport, which advanced to the state semi-finals, led the state with three First-Team selections.

Jefferson’s Griffin Horowicz was named captain of the First Team and Braden Shepherd of Huntington was selected as captain of the Second Team.

Class AAA West Virginia Sports Writer’s Association All-State Baseball Team:


P – Griffin Horowicz, Jefferson, Sr. (captain)

P – Ben McDougal, Bridgeport, Sr.

P – Reece Sutphin, Hurricane, Jr.

C – Brett Haskins, Ripley, Sr.

C – Eli Shouldis, Huntington, Sr.

Inf – Cam Cole, Bridgeport, Sr.

Inf – Aaron Forbes, University, Jr.

Inf – Ethan Spolarich, Hurricane, Sr.

Inf – Hudson Clement, Martinsburg, Sr.

OF – Aidan Paulsen, Bridgeport, Sr.

OF – Aaron Jamison, Morgantown, Jr.

OF – Damian Witty, Hurricane, Jr.

Util – Isaac McCallister, George Washington, Sr.

Util – Branson McCloud, Spring Valley, Jr.

Util – Sammy Roberts, Jefferson, Sr.


P – Braden Shepherd, Huntington, Sr. (captain)

P – Reed Bailey, Morgantown, Sr.

P – Grant Stratton, Spring Valley, Soph.

C – Bayden Hartman, Musselman, Jr.

C – Caden Johnson, Hurricane, Jr.

Inf – Michael Bittinger, Wheeling Park, Sr.

Inf – Carson McCoy, St. Albans, Jr.

Inf – Anthony Dixon, Bridgeport, Sr.

Inf – Danny Dickenson, Woodrow Wilson, Sr.

OF – Jaeden Anderson, George Washington, Sr.

OF – Sammy Booth, Spring Valley, Soph.

OF – Zach Calef-Boring, Buckhannon-Upshur, Jr.

Util – Quarrier Phillips, Hurricane, Sr.

Util – Logan Lingenfelter, Cabell Midland, Sr.

Util – Chris Harbert, Bridgeport, Sr.


Bailey, Jefferson; Drew Bailey, Bridgeport; Jordan Bailey, Princeton; Gabe Bates, Lincoln County; Gavin Bennett. Greenbrier East; Darris Boswell, Greenbrier East; Noah Braham, University; Brogan Brown, Hurricane; Reilly Bubb, Hedgesville; Micah Clay, Woodrow Wilson; Jackson Curry, Ripley; Kaleb Edwards, Martinsburg; Jackson Fetty, Cabell Midland; Ryan Fluharty, Morgantown; Braxton Hall, Oak Hill; Chase Herndon, Spring Mills; Carter King, Parkersburg; Austin Mann, Bridgeport; Luke Marsh, Wheeling Park; Jayden McLain, Oak Hill; Hunter McSweeney, Cabell Midland; Nic Menarchek, Parkersburg South; Isaiah Morris, Martinsburg; Jason Myers, Musselman; Ethan Neely, John Marshall; Zach Nicholson, Bridgeport; Cam Reed, George Washington; Collin Reed, Washington; Phil Reed, Bridgeport; Jake Roshau, Greenbrier East; Grant Shumaker, Spring Valley; Brayden Stottlemyer, Washington; Dylan Stevens, Musselman; Garrett Stuck, Capital; Cameron Tenney, Buckhannon-Upshur; Sam Wabnitz, Jefferson; Logan Williams, Woodrow Wilson; Evan Wilson, Capital; Zane Wolfe, Oak Hill

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!