WVWC’s Padrino named to MEC Men’s Basketball Honorable Mention All-Conference Team

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Charleston’s Eddie Colbert III highlighted the Mountain East Conference men’s basketball awards as the 2023-24 Player of the Year, the league office announced on Tuesday afternoon.

West Liberty first-year standout Kyler Daugustino was voted the league’s Freshman of the Year, while Charleston’s Dwaine Osborne was named MEC Coach of the Year.

Colbert is joined on the All-MEC first team by Fairmont State’s Zyon Dobbs, Charleston’s Tyler Eberhart, Wheeling’s Marcus Johnson, West Liberty’s Christian Montague, West Virginia State’s Anthony Pittman, Davis & Elkins’ Sam Rolle IV and Concord’s Kollin Tolbert.

Colbert, a senior from Toledo, Ohio, ranks fourth in the league in scoring at 17.6 points per game, while shooting a league-best 52.5 percent from the floor. He also ranked second in the league in free throw percentage (85.9) this season. In addition, Colbert grabbed 6.0 rebounds per game, while tallying 35 assists, 21 steals and 16 blocks for the Golden Eagles. Colbert was named MEC Player of the Week twice this season while leading Charleston to its first MEC regular season crown.

Daugustino, a guard from Albany, Ohio, averaged 8.9 points and 2.1 rebounds as a freshman for the Hilltoppers. He reached double-figures in 13 games and shot 51 percent (109-212) from the floor this season. Daugustino also added 34 assists and 27 steals on the year.

Osborne was voted MEC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career after leading the Golden Eagles to a share of the MEC Regular Season title in 2023-24. Charleston enters this week’s MEC Tournament with a 24-4 overall record, and currently ranks 10th in the NABC Coaches Poll. UC also ranks third in the latest NCAA Atlantic Region Rankings.

In addition to the All-MEC first team and postseason award winners, the conference also recognized second team and honorable mention all-conference teams (listed below). The MEC postseason awards and all-conference teams are selected following a vote of the league’s head coaches.

2024 All-MEC First Team
Eddie Colbert IIICharlestonSr.F6-6Toledo, Ohio
Zyon DobbsFairmont StateGr.G6-4Fairmont, W.Va.
Tyler EberhartCharlestonJr.F6-7Springfield, Ohio
Marcus JohnsonWheelingJr.F6-7Akron, Ohio
Christian MontagueWest LibertySr.G6-1Dayton, Ohio
Anthony PittmanWest Virginia St.R-Sr.G/F6-5Charleston, W.Va.
Sam Rolle IVDavis & ElkinsSr.G5-11Riviera Beach, Fla.
Kollin TolbertConcordSo.G6-2Cincinnati, Ohio
2024 All-MEC Second Team
DeAirius BarkerCharlestonJr.G6-0Cincinnati, Ohio
Arthur CoxWest Virginia St.Jr.F6-8Fayetteville, Ark.
Devin HaidNotre DameR-So.G6-5Wooster, Ohio
JJ HarperConcordSr.G6-5Gotha, Fla.
David JolinderFairmont StateSo.G/F6-6Stockholm, Sweden
John KorteWest LibertyGr.F6-6Watertown, Mass.
Zach RasileWest LibertyJr.G6-1McDonald, Ohio
Jordan Turbo SmithGlenville StateSr.G6-1Titusville, Fla.
2024 All-MEC Honorable Mention
Devin CollinsGlenville StateGr.F6-8Chapmanville, W.Va.
Rene DiopConcordSo.F6-8Dakar, Senegal
Dwaine JonesCharlestonJr.G6-5Neptune, N.J.
Deiker PadrinoWest Va. WesleyanGr.G6-3Bogota, N.J.
Tommy WilliamsFairmont StateSr.G6-2Shady Spring, W.Va.

Player of the Year: Eddie Colbert III (Charleston)
Freshman of the Year: Kyler Daugustino (West Liberty)
Coach of the Year: Dwaine Osborne (Charleston)

Previous Winners
Player of the Year
2014: Cedric Harris (West Liberty)
2015: Seger Bonifant (West Liberty)
2016: Seger Bonifant (West Liberty)
2017: Matt Bingaya (Fairmont State)
2018: Haywood Highsmith (Wheeling Jesuit)
2019: Will Vorhees (Notre Dame)
2020: Dalton Bolon (West Liberty)
2021: Dalton Bolon (West Liberty)
2022: Bryce Butler (West Liberty)
2023: Bryce Butler (West Liberty)
2024: Eddie Colbert III (Charleston)

Freshman of the Year
2014: Thomas Wimbush (Fairmont State)
2015: Pat Moseh (Wheeling Jesuit)
2016: David Dennis (West Liberty)
2017: Luke Layhew (West Virginia Wesleyan)
2018: Dalton Bolon (West Liberty)
2019: Will Yoakum (West Liberty)
2020: Dale Bonner (Fairmont State)
2021: Sam Rolle (Davis & Elkins)
2022: Jalen Knott (Alderson Broaddus)
2023: CJ Meredith (Charleston)
2024: Kyler Daugustino (West Liberty)

Coach of the Year
2014: Jim Crutchfield (West Liberty)/Dwaine Osborne (Charleston)
2015: Kent McBride (Concord)
2016: Dan Sancomb (Wheeling Jesuit)
2017: Jerrod Calhoun (Fairmont State)
2018: Ben Howlett (West Liberty)
2019: Tim Koenig (Notre Dame)
2020: Dwaine Osborne (Charleston)
2021: Dwaine Osborne (Charleston)
2022: Ben Howlett (West Liberty)
2023: Daniel Mondragon (Davis & Elkins)
2024: Dwaine Osborne (Charleston)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!