West Virginia Wesleyan inducts 18 new members into Omicron Delta Kappa

BUCKHANNON — The West Virginia Wesleyan College Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) conducted its 60th annual induction on April 13, 2023, in the Meditation Chapel.  The circle inducted three seniors, five juniors, six sophomores, one graduate students, one faculty and two staff members.

The Wesleyan Circle of ODK was established in 1963 and has inducted over 1,100 students, faculty, and staff.  Student eligibility is based on the top 35 percent of each class in scholarship, as well as participation in one of the following:  athletics, music, arts, journalism, and community service.

Newly inducted members include:  graduate student Debra Tysor ‘23, Elkins, West Virginia.  Seniors Payton Hefner ‘23, Bridgeport, West Virginia; Rebekah Sikora ‘23, Morgantown, West Virginia;  Hope Wyatt ‘23, Tornado, West Virginia.  Juniors Alienor Dalle ‘24, Belgium; Stephen Groves ‘24, Bridgeport, West Virginia, Jillian Morgan ‘24, Dailey, West Virginia, Madison Rowe ‘24, Nashua, New Hampshire, and Hannah Walters ‘24, Cabins, West Virginia.  Sophomores Katherine Caldwell ‘25, Buckhannon, West Virginia, Brooklyn Farley ‘25, Kermit, West Virginia, Elizabeth Mazzariello ‘25, Somerset, Pennsylvania, Bree Moll ‘25, Craigsville, West Virginia, Danica Propst ‘25, Martinsburg, West Virginia, and Eden Reynolds ‘25, Cross Lanes, West Virginia .

Also inducted were Dr. R. Daniel Martin, professor and director athletic training, Anita Dib, director of the learning center, and Elisabeth Rogers ‘97, director of library services.

Participating in the ceremony were Dr. Thomas Smith, faculty advisor, Alisa Lively, director for community engagement, and Alison Whitehair, vice president for student affairs.  Officers participating included Mari-Jane McLeod ‘23, president, and Kevin Shrewsbury ‘23,  vice president.  Student officers for the 2023-2024 academic year include Bree Moll, president, Alienor Dalle, vice president, and Stephen Groves, treasurer. 

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on December 3, 1914, on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia.  The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that leadership at the collegiate level should be recognized and encouraged across all phases of campus life.  The motives which guided the founders sprang from the desire to bring together one body for the general good of the institution, leaders from all parts of the college or university community. 

The success of the ODK idea, an essential part of which is its inter-generational nature and a determination to maintain a consistent and high standards of leadership recognition, led to the establishment of chapters, which are called circles, at other colleges.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!