Three more Upshur County residents file for Board of Education

BUCKHANNON – Three more local residents had filed to run for Upshur County Board of Education as of Wednesday afternoon.

Since My Buckhannon’s last filing update, Dave Chipps, Jan Craig and Roy Wager have filed for the school board. All three are in District 1. They join Derrick Aegan (District 3), Jesse Davidson (District 3) and Brandon Weese (District 2) in the race for the three open non-partisan seats.

The in-person filing period began Monday, Jan. 10, 2022, and continues through noon on Saturday, Jan. 29, 2022. Filings by U.S. mail must be postmarked by midnight Saturday, Jan. 29, 2022.

Here’s who has filed for the other local races:

City Council (two four-year terms)
Laura Foulks
Shelia Lewis-Sines
David McCauley
David Thomas
Jim Valenson

City Recorder (one four-year term)
Randy Sanders

The last day to withdraw from the municipal election is Feb. 15 and drawing for positions on the ballot will take place at 9 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2022, in the Upshur County Clerk’s Office inside the Upshur County Courthouse. City races are non-partisan. The filing fee for council is $5 and the fee for city recorder is $7.50. The City of Buckhannon website also has a Call for Election page on their website, which lists precinct locations here.

County Commission (1st Magisterial District)
Sam Nolte (R)

County Clerk
Carol J. Smith (R)

Circuit Clerk
Brian P. Gaudet (R)

Magistrate – Division 1 (unexpired term, non-partisan)
Mark Davis

Magistrate – Division 2 (unexpired term, non-partisan)
Alan Suder

Conservation District Supervisor (non-partisan)
Donnie R. Tenney

11th Senatorial District
Bill Hamilton of Buckhannon (R)

64th Delegate District
Adam Burkhammer of Horner (R)

65th Delegate District
Carl “Robbie” Martin of Buckhannon (R)

U.S. House of Representatives
Angela J. Dwyer of Martinsburg (D)
Barry Lee Wendell of Morgantown (D)
Susan Buchser-Lochocki of Morgantown (R)
David B. McKinley of Wheeling (R)
Alexander X. Mooney of Charles Town (R)
Mike Seckman of West Union (R)

For more information about filing for office from West Virginia Secretary of State Mac Warner, please click here.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!