Three Lady Bucs land on All-State Volleyball Team

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur volleyball team landed three players on the 2021 West Virginia Sports Writers Association Class AAA All-State Team.

Kendal Currence earned All-State Second Team honors while Shelby McDaniels was named to the All-State Special Honorable Mention Team and Caroline Frye was tabbed to the All-State Honorable Mention Team.

Currence led the Lady Bucs in three categories —  in aces with 60, kills with 173 and in blocks with 57. She also recorded 161 digs and had 33 assists.

McDaniels was third on the team in aces with 51 and fourth on the team in kills with 89, digs with 159 and in assists with 29. She also had four blocks.

Frye paced the team in digs with 259 and second in kills with 103. She also served up 27 aces, 13 assists and three blocks.

All three players recently earned Big 10 All-Conference honors.

Skyler Yates of Hedgesville was named captain of the First Team while Morgantown’s Issy Gruschecky was captain of the Second Team.

The West Virginia Sports Writers Association Class AAA all-state volleyball team.


Skylar Yates, Hedgesville, SR (CAPTAIN)

Hannah Howard, Musselman, JR

Elysia Salon, Woodrow Wilson, SR

Kennedy Stanley, Spring Valley, SR

Sadie Wright, Musselman, SR

Molly Grimm, George Washington, SR

Violet Sickles, Bridgeport, SR

Paige Brock, Morgantown, JR

Faith Smith, George Washington, SR

Dia Sauvage, Greenbrier East, SO


Issy Gruschecky, Morgantown, SO (CAPTAIN)

Nevaeh Wooding, Greenbrier East, SR

Paige Richmond, Hedgesville, JR

Alexa Martin, Bridgeport, JR

Kendal Currence, Buckhannon-Upshur, JR

Caroline Shipley, Musselman, SR

Olivia Ziolkowski, Woodrow Wilson, SR

Kantley McKown, Hurricane, SR

Rylee Wise, Parkersburg, JR

Kayla Moffatt, Capital, SR


Brooklyn Morgan, Greenbrier East; Madigan Faircloth, Musselman; Kisten Roberts, Parkersburg; Josey Bryan, Cabell Midland; Jasmine Judy, Parkersburg South; Shelby McDaniels, Buckhannon-Upshur; Amelia Hicks, Hampshire; Ameris Chadband, South Charleston; Grace Washburn, Morgantown; Elli Barry, Huntington; Jacey Lucas, Bridgeport; Averi Bishop, Martinsburg; Maggie Dickerson, Hurricane; Abby Dillon, Woodrow Wilson; Emi Smith, Hampshire; Haylie McPherson, Princeton


Cambria Freeman, Bridgeport; Ella Voorhees, Morgantown; Sidney Varney, Ripley; Caroline Frye, Buckhannon-Upshur; Jenna Christopher, Spring Valley; Reese Parsons, Hurricane; Rylee Hightower, Cabell Midland; Ella Hall, George Washington; Paisley Miller, Hedgesville; Logan Bowman, Parkersburg South; Ava Bolen, Brooke; Hannah Gaiser, John Marshall; Olivia Saunders, Washington; Alayna Harper, Hedgesville; Zamahya Moss, Woodrow Wilson; Emily Knotts, Preston

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!