Megan Meyer named 12th West Virginia Scholar

Hedgesville High School’s Megan Meyer of Martinsburg is the winner of the 12th annual West Virginia Scholar competition. Meyer will receive a four-year full scholarship to attend West Virginia Wesleyan College beginning with the 2020 fall semester. The announcement was made at the annual luncheon honoring finalists on the Wesleyan campus.

The first runner-up in this year’s competition is Elkins High School’s Sofia Triplett of Elkins, who will receive a $20,000 scholarship over four years. South Harrison High School’s Garrett Davis of Jane Lew is the second runner-up and will receive a $10,000 scholarship to Wesleyan.

Other finalists include Philip Barbour High School’s Jakob Baker of Philippi, Woodrow Wilson High School’s Caitlyn Cormack of Beckley, Brooke High School’s Rachel Kazmirski of Colliers, Hedgesville High School’s Michael Offutt of Hedgesville, Notre Dame High School’s Bethany Prascik of Fairmont, Musselman High School’s Sara Snyder of Hedgesville, and Braxton County High School’s Camron Wayne of Gassaway.

“I’m shocked,” Meyer said. “It’s amazing. I’m both speechless and unbelievably happy.” Meyer wants to major in nursing, adding no one in her family has gone to medical school and it’s personal for her.

Wesleyan Vice President of Enrollment Management John Waltz said the finalists represent the best and brightest, and will change the world. He added, “There were a record number of applicants this year. The group of finalists has an average 3.99 GPA, a 25 average ACT score and 1140 average score on the SAT.”

The scholarship competition began in February and the pool of 100 applicants was narrowed to 15 semi-finalists in April. The program is a partnership between Wesleyan and West Virginia MetroNews.

The scholarship competition is also sponsored by West Virginia Farm Bureau, ZMM Architects and Engineers, West Virginia Hospital Association, AIP Architectural Interior Products, West Virginia Coal Association, Friends of Coal, and RBC Wealth Management.

The scholarship is also partially funded by The Culpepper Wesleyan Scholars Award, which was established as an endowed scholarship by the late Olive O’Dell Culpepper ’33 and C. Ross Culpepper ’30. The endowment continues to be generously supported by Marvin, 51, Hon. ’06 and Elaine Karnes Culpepper ’54, Hon. ’06.

Photo caption: 12th Annual West Virginia Scholar Program (from left), Second Runner-Up: Garrett Davis of Jane Lew, Winner: Megan Meyer of Martinsburg, and First Runner-Up: Sofia Triplett of Elkins.



Buckhannon man held on $100,000 bail after being arrested on multiple drug charges

BUCKHANNON – A Buckhannon man was arrested Saturday after several illegal substances were allegedly found in his residence. Bryan Shaw, 41, of Buckhannon, was arrested for possession with intent to deliver methamphetamine, possession with intent to deliver heroin, possession with […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story and thousands more. Plus you’ll wake up every morning to our email edition. Your subscription supports local news by local writers. Signing up is easy — just tap the button below!


Baseball ‘Cats take home doubleheader from Notre Dame

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan baseball team swept the doubleheader Tuesday with Notre Dame College, defeating the Falcons 5-4 in both games. Pitching was key as in both games the starter was able

WVWC Tennis

Tennis ‘Cats earn 6-1 victory over Mercyhurst

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s tennis team won a 6-1 decision Tuesday at home against PSAC foe Mercyhurst, earning their third-straight win and improving to (5-3) overall. The women’s match was not