Five Bucs named to All-Region I soccer team

TENNERTON – Five Buckhannon-Upshur soccer Bucs earned All-Region I honors as the team was announced today.

Earning regional honors for the Bucs were Riel Figueroa, Christian Dowell, Tim Snyder, Dirk Riley, and Slaton Kowalkoski.

Figueroa and Dowell were named to the First Team while Snyder, Riley, and Kowalkoski were selected to the Second Team.

Figueroa, a freshman, was named to the First Team as a forward while Dowell, a junior, was selected as a midfielder.

Figueroa was the only freshman named to the First Team. He led the B-U squad in scoring with 23 goals and five assists.

Dowell was second on the team in goals with 10 while contributing two assists.

Snyder, a junior, and Riley, a senior, made the Second Team as defenders while Kowalkoski, a junior, was selected as a keeper.

Snyder tallied two goals. Both Snyder and Riley were part of a defense that posted two shutouts and allowed 2.3 goals per game.

Kowalkoski started the first 18 games before missing the last three due to injury. He made 147 saves and posted 1.52 goals against average while notching two shutouts.

Tresz McLeod of Wheeling Park was named the Region I Player of the Year while Sam Snyder of Morgantown was named the Region I Coach of the Year.

Region 1 is made up of eight schools – Buckhannon-Upshur, Bridgeport, Brooke, John Marshall, Morgantown, Preston, University and Wheeling Park.



Jackson Cogar (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Ben Ferguson (Sr.) – Brooke

Riel Figueroa (Fr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Wilson Hannah (Soph.) – Wheeling Park

Alex Lopez-Maldonado (Sr.) – University

Tresz McLeod (Jr.) – Wheeling Park


Cordell Ayers (Sr.) — Preston

Joel Beeson (Sr.) – Morgantown

Riley Brabson (Jr.) — Morgantown

Christian Dowell (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

John Dumas (Sr.) – Bridgeport

Luke Dunaway (Sr.) – Wheeling Park

Chase Hile (Jr.) – Brooke

Davion Huckaby (Soph.) – University


Ziggy Hirschfeld (Sr.) — Morgantown

Sam Pacyna (Sr.) — Morgantown

Nick Sagan (Sr.) – Brooke


Gavin Border (Jr.) – Wheeling Park



Zane Wagner (Sr.) – Bridgeport


Grayston Church (Fr.) – Bridgeport

Devin Cipoletti (Sr.) – Brooke

Alex Gonzalez (Jr.) – Morgantown

Brady Grubb (Jr.) – University

Gavin Heaney (Jr.) – Preston

Sam Kilmas (Jr.) — Preston

Landan Smith (Jr.) — Preston

Jacob Williams (Sr.) – Preston


Josh Albrecht (Jr.) – Wheeling Park

Kevin Hernandez (Jr.) – University

Nate Hernandez (Jr.) – University

Jeg Hilt (Sr.) — Brooke

Tucker Pomeroy (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Dirk Riley (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Tim Snyder (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur


Slaton Kowalkoski (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Player of the Year – Tresz McLeod (Wheeling Park)

Coach of the Year – Sam Snyder (Morgantown)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!