B-U’s Hughes and Fetty earn Big 10 All-Conference Swim honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs landed two swimmers on the recently released Big 10 All-Conference Swim Team.

Sophomore Mallory Hughes was named to the Second Team while senior Lillian Fetty was selected to the Honorable Mention Team.

At the conference meet, Hughes finished fourth out of 24 swimmers in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 27.15.

Hughes, along with Fetty, were part of the fourth-place 200-yard freestyle team and the seventh place 200-yard medley relay team

Individually, Fetty finished seventh in the 200-yard freestyle.

Elkins, which won the conference title and eventually the state title, landed eight swimmers on the All-Conference team with five on the First Team, two on the Second Team and one on the Honorable Mention Team.

Elkins also swept the individual awards as Rachel Shryock was named the Swimmer of the Year and Amiee Cain and Seth Blake were named Coaches of the Year.


Kira Gazal – Bridgeport

Gretchen Long — Bridgeport

Amelia Romano — Bridgeport

Breanna Waldron – East Fairmont

Lilly Anger – Elkins

Emily Durst — Elkins

Lilly Irons – Elkins

Rachel Shryock – Elkins

Emma Ujvagi – Elkins

Mackenna Halfin – Philp Barbour


Kaylin Terneus – Bridgeport

Mallory Hughes – Buckhannon-Upshur

Raighan Carte – Elkins

Leah Ours – Elkins

Audrey Drennen – Fairmont Senior

Caroline Hamilton – Fairmont Senior

Bella Lemon — Grafton

Katie Novisky – Grafton

Lila Barnes – Lincoln

Taylor Hess – North Marion


Addison Tharp – Bridgeport

Jacie Wood – Bridgeport

Lillian Fetty – Buckhannon-Upshur

Sophiea Hornick – Elkins

Taylor Burkel – Fairmont Senior

Audrie Smith – Fairmont Senior

Camryn Shingleton – Liberty

Sully Grassi – Philip Barbour

Turkey Grassi – Philip Barbour

SWIMMER OF THE YEAR – Rachel Shryock (Elkins)

COACHES OF THE YEAR – Amiee Cain and Seth Blake (Elkins)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!