Seated (left to right): Sequya Vassar, B.S.N, R.N., Jayme Schuster, D.N.P., R.N., A.P.R.N., A.C.N.P.A.G.-B.C., and Lillian Currey, B.S.N., R.N. Standing (left to right): Michael A. Grace Ed.D, M.B.A., F.A.C.H.E., president of WVU Hospitals and chief administrative officer of the WVU Health System; Melanie Heuston, D.N.P., R.N., N.E.A.-B.C., chief nursing executive for the WVU Health System; Anna Hoffman, B.S.N., R.N., Christopher Vance, B.S.N., R.N., Robert Anthony, B.S.N., R.N., Rebecca Worley, B.S.N., R.N., C.C.R.N., Lori Dolde, R.N., Mary Fanning, D.N.P., R.N., N.E.A.-B.C., vice president and chief nursing officer, WVU Medicine J.W. Ruby Memorial Hospital. Not pictured: Angela Frisbie, Clinical Associate, and Leah Flanagan, R.N.

WVU Hospitals holds ceremony for interprofessional colleague and nurses of the year

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – WVU Medicine-WVU Hospitals (WVUH) held its 2024 Nurses and Interprofessional Colleague of the Year ceremony on May 8, during National Nurses Week. Nine nurses and one clinical associate, who supports nursing efforts, won top awards.

“We had a record number of nominations this year – 106 total – from all areas of our organization,” Jennifer Strait, M.S.N., R.N., N.P.D.-B.C., O.D.C.P., director of WVU Hospitals Nursing Professional Development and Education, said. “The nominations this year are a true testament of the impact that our nurses and interprofessional colleagues make at our organization, the community, and to all those we serve. All the nominees exemplify excellence, and their contributions are clearly defined within the nursing professional practice model, with the majority focusing on teamwork, milieu, and advancement.”

Nominators, nominees, and nursing leaders were invited to join WVU Hospitals leadership for the formal ceremony, where winners were revealed for the first time.

“This celebration is sponsored by the Nursing Recruitment and Retention council and is a way to give gratitude and recognition to our nurses and interprofessional colleagues who are part of our teams, making sure every patient gets the high-quality care they need and deserve.”

This year’s winners are:

  • Rebecca Worley, BSN, RN, CCRN, SICU, Inpatient Diamond Nurse of the Year – given to a direct care nurse with 20 or more years of experience
  • Sequya Vassar, BSN, RN, Observation Unit, Inpatient Platinum Nurse of the Year – given to any direct care nurse with 11 to 19 years of experience
  • Christopher Vance, BSN, RN, Resource and Float Pool, Inpatient Gold Nurse of the Year – given to any direct care nurse with six to ten years of experience
  • Leah Flanagan, RN, 7 West, Inpatient Silver Nurse of the Year – given to any direct care nurse with one to five years of experience
  • Lillian Currey, BSN, RN, 7 West, Inpatient Bronze Nurse of the Year – given to any direct care nurse with less than one year of experience
  • Jayme Schuster, DNP, RN, APRN, ACNPAG-BC, HVI Critical Care, Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year – given to an Advanced Practice Nurse who works in a Morgantown campus hospital/clinic
  • Lori Dolde, RN, Surgery Endoscopy, Ambulatory Nurse of the Year – given to a nurse who works in the ambulatory patient care areas of the organization
  • Robert Anthony, BSN, RN, Resource and Float Pool, Nurse Leader of the Year– given to a nurse leader with the job title Night Supervisor, House Supervisor, Nurse Manager, Nurse Director or AVP
  • Anna Hoffman, BSN, RN, CVICU, Nurse Educator of the Year – given to any nurse who has the job title clinical preceptor, college coordinator, transition coordinator or any nurse educator role
  • Angela Frisbie, Clinical Associate, HVI 9 Southeast, Interprofessional Colleague of the Year – given to a non-nurse employee who exemplifies excellence in patient care by collaborating with the nursing staff to meet patient needs and provide patient-centered care

For more information on nursing careers, visit

For more information on WVU Medicine, visit

News Feed