Close this search box.

With filing now closed, here’s who is running for office to represent Upshur County residents

BUCKHANNON — The candidate filing period for the May 14, 2024, Primary Election officially ended Saturday, Jan. 27. While some filings could still be received by mail, here is who had filed to run for office in Upshur County and the City of Buckhannon as of Tuesday afternoon, January 30:

Upshur County Magistrate (Division 1 & 2) (Non-Partisan)

  • Mark Davis (Division 1)
  • Kay Hurst (Division 1)
  • Alan Suder (Division 2)

Upshur County Commission — 6-year term (District 2 or 3)

  • Kristie G. Tenney, Republican
  • Scott H. Williams, Republican

Upshur County Commission — Unexpired 2-year term (District 2 or 3)

  • Doug Bush, Republican
  • Jesse Davidson, Republican
  • Patrick Kyle Lane, Republican

Upshur County Prosecuting Attorney

  • Bryan S. Hinkle, Republican

Upshur County Sheriff

  • Mike Coffman, Republican
  • Timothy “Timmy” Kelley, Republican
  • Chester Zickefoose, Republican

Upshur County Assessor

  • Dustin “Dusty” Zickefoose, Republican

Upshur County Surveyor

  • Dale P. Bennett, Republican

Upshur County Board of Education (Non-Partisan)

  • Rob Hinton (District 2)
  • Susan M. King (District 3)
  • Neil W. Leput (District 3)
  • William “Willie” Parker (District 2)

Conservation District Supervisor (Non-Partisan)

  • Mateal Poling
  • Amber Stripling

Buckhannon City Mayor (Non-Partisan)

  • Robbie Skinner

Buckhannon City Council (Non-Partisan — 3 Seats)

  • John Antolini (East Main Street)
  • Pam Bucklew (Boggess Street)
  • Laura Foulks (College Avenue)
  • Scott Randall (Lincoln Heights)
  • Jack Reger (Lincoln Way)
  • Mike Ruffing (Shawnee Drive)
  • Jim Valenson (Elm Street)
  • Robert Zuliani (Smithfield Street)

Senator for District 11 (represents Upshur, Randolph, Webster, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Pendleton and part of Grant County)

  • Robert Lee Karnes, Republican
  • Robbie Morris, Republican
  • Mandy Smith Weirich, Democrat

House of Delegates for District 64 (represents Lewis County and a small part of Upshur County)

  • Adam Burkhammer, Republican

House of Delegates for District 65 (represents the majority of Upshur County)

  • Matthew Kerner, Democrat
  • Carl “Robbie” Martin, Republican

House of Delegates for District 68 (represents Barbour County and a small part of Upshur County)

  • David Critchfield, Republican
  • Chris Phillips, Republican

For more details about the election, visit the Upshur County Clerk’s Office’s website or find information about the May 2024 Primary Election on the West Virginia Secretary of State’s page.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!