Close this search box.

Who murdered Edwin Drood?

The Fairmont State University Masquers and Town & Gown Players are proud to present the hilarious murder mystery musical, “The Mystery of Edwin Drood.” Loosely based on an unfinished mystery by Charles Dickens, “The Mystery of Edwin Drood”, was adapted as a musical by Rupert Holmes.

This hysterical whodunit musical invites the audience to solve the mystery by choosing the identity of the murderer. Put on your detective hats because when the show starts, no one, including the director, actors, crew, or audience know how the story will end. You decide! The play will be performed in the Wallman Hall Theatre on November 15, 16, 21, 22, and 23 at 7:30 p.m., and on Sunday, November 17, at 2:00 p.m. Tickets can be purchased by calling the box office at 304-367-4240.

Directed by Troy Snyder with music directed by R.J. Nestor, the story features John Jasper, played by Dino Vergura, a Jekyll-and-Hyde choirmaster who is quite madly in love with his music student, the fair Miss Rosa Bud, played by Ashley Morgan Fink. Miss Bud is, in turn, engaged to Jasper’s nephew, young Edwin Drood, played by Madeline Giambi. Also, in love with Rosa Bud is the unpredictable foreigner, Mr. Neville Landless, played by Nathaniel David George, who is accompanied by his tempestuous twin sister, Helena, played by Sarah Hinermann.

Our title character disappears mysteriously one stormy Christmas Eve—but has Edwin Drood been murdered? And if so, then who did it? Was it the drunken town stonemason, a specimen known as Durdles, played by Justin Z. Allan? Or could it have been the good Reverend Crisparkle, played by Colton Daft, an Anglican with a past? Or even his overlooked assistant, Phillip Bax, played by Jason Englestad? And what about the infamous and mysterious Princess Puffer, played by Kathy Dunn? These are just a few of the possibilities the audience will consider as this play-within-a-play comes to a hilariously madcap conclusion that is different every night!

Cast Members also include, Kelli Cooper as Mr. James Throttle, Karlee Edmonds as the Deputy, and Jessi Grimmett, Dominic Secreto, Morgan Donaldson, Grace Spindler, Miranda Folmsbee, Elizabeth “Mo” Collins, Jacqueline Jelacic, Jaclyn Kovach, Hannah Schreiner, and Ben Gillespie as ensemble members of the acting company. Co-stage managers include Haley Wilson and Ashley Doyle. Choreographers include Bailey Kershner, Miranda Folmsbee, and Ashley Morgan Fink.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!