Wesleyan to send two golfers to NCAA Atlantic/East Men’s Regional

INDIANAPOLIS – Three men’s golf programs and three individuals from the Mountain East Conference have earned NCAA postseason bids to compete at the 2024 NCAA Atlantic/East Regional Tournament, which will be played at Oglebay Golf Resort in Wheeling, West Virginia, with West Liberty University serving as the event’s host.

Regional play is set for May 9-11.

The University of Charleston was announced as the top seed in the Atlantic Region on Friday afternoon and will be joined at the regional by Glenville State and Davis & Elkins. The Senators earned the league’s automatic bid by winning the MEC Men’s Golf Championship back in October.

Additionally, the MEC qualified three individuals for the event, including league Player of the Year Francisco Taboada and teammate Mateo Zolezzi from West Virginia Wesleyan, and Fairmont State’s Alex Turowski.

The top five teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional will advance to the finals, May 21-25 at the Orange County National Golf Center and Lodge in Winter Garden, Florida. The finals will be hosted by Rollins College and the Greater Orlando Sports Commission.

Oglebay Golf Resort, Wheeling, West Virginia; West Liberty University, host.

Atlantic Region:

  1. Charleston (West Virginia)
  2. Indiana (Pennsylvania)
  3. Gannon
  4. Glenville State
  5. Millersville [Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference]
  6. Virginia Union [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]
  7. Pittsburgh-Johnstown
  8. Livingstone
  9. Davis & Elkins [Mountain East Conference]
  10. Fayetteville State


  1. Francisco Taboada, West Virginia Wesleyan
  2. Mateo Zolezzi, West Virginia Wesleyan
  3. Alex Turowski, Fairmont State
  4. Reese Watson, California (Pennsylvania)

East Region:

  1. St. Thomas Aquinas
  2. Goldey-Beacom [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference]
  3. Post
  4. Assumption
  5. Adelphi [Northeast-10 Conference]
  6. Dominican New York
  7. Saint Anselm
  8. Southern New Hampshire
  9. Bentley
  10. Franklin Pierce


  1. Tyler Cleaves, Wilmington (Delaware)
  2. Pablo Hidalgo, Felician
  3. Aissa El Khadri, New Haven
  4. Pablo Quintero, Wilmington (Delaware)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!