Three incoming freshmen awarded Presidential Scholarships

Continuing the tradition, three West Virginia high school seniors have been named as recipients of Fairmont State University’s premier academic scholarship, the Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship.

The following students have been selected as 2020 scholarship winners:

  • Kamden Dulaney of Bridgeport, W.Va. 
  • Amie Robinson of Shirley, W.Va. 
  • Natalie Teter of Harman, W.Va. 

“Fairmont State University continues to offer opportunities for high-achieving students, including our three scholarship winners. I am happy to welcome them to the Falcon family,” said Fairmont State President Mirta Martin. “We take our commitment to give our students exactly what they need to be successful in our changing global economy seriously.”

Kamden Dulaney is a senior at Bridgeport High School. He will be majoring in forensics when he attends Fairmont State in the fall. 

“From the start, Fairmont State University felt like it could be home. With the smaller family-like atmosphere, I can make connections with my professors and those around me,” he said. “After speaking with President Martin, I immediately knew that she and the rest of the faculty care for the students. With its close proximity to home, I’ll be able to visit my family and attend my church every Sunday.”

Dulaney is looking forward to the educational opportunities, the amount he can learn, personal connections with professors and peers and his collaboration with likeminded students.  

“This scholarship has been a blessing for me and my family. I have been given a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that I will not let go to waste,” he said. “Now, the time I would have spent working to pay for college can be spent on my education and preparation for medical school and my career.”

Amie Robinson is a current senior at Tyler Consolidated High School and will be majoring in Elementary Education when she attends Fairmont State in the fall. 

“I chose Fairmont because it feels like home. While I was on campus, I felt comfortable and welcomed,” she said. “During my interview, the president, faculty, and students welcomed me with open arms. That’s when I knew that Fairmont was where I wanted to go.”

As a social person, Robinson is excited to meet new people and get involved as well as attend the sporting events. 

“This scholarship means so much to me. Before this scholarship, I wasn’t in a financially secure area and now that I have this scholarship I’m in a safe area,” she said. “With this scholarship, I don’t have to worry about money as much and can focus on finishing my senior year.”

Harman High School Senior Natalie Teter will begin pursuing a degree in National Security and Intelligence at Fairmont State in the fall. After visiting campus, she made the decision to call the university “home.” 

“The beautiful campus and amazing faculty won me over,” she said. “After I saw the OSIX lab and other opportunities through the National Security and Intelligence program and the University, I knew Fairmont State was the place for me.”

Teter also mentioned she is looking forward to the opportunities that going to college offers. Getting involved in new activities, meeting new people, and gaining new skills to help her excel in her future are just a few of them. 

“This scholarship means all my hard work has paid off and I will not burden my parents or myself with student loans,” she said. “Now, I will only have to work during the summer, and I can focus on my studies during the academic year. I feel like I have won the lottery!”

The competitive scholarship includes tuition, room and board and a book stipend. Traditionally, the high school of each of the winners is presented with a plaque featuring its student during the school’s spring awards assembly. Those will be delivered when schools reopen. 

First-year recipients must maintain an overall GPA of a 2.75 at the end of their first year. An overall GPA of 3.0 is required for renewal during subsequent years. A minimum of 30 credit hours must be obtained in a year of enrollment for renewal. The Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship can only be awarded up to eight semesters.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!