Close this search box.

Three Buccaneers earn All-State football honors

TENNERTON – For their superior performances on the field, three Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers earned honors on the Class AAA WVSWA All-State Football team.

Landing on the All-State team for the Bucs were Chase Hackett, Wyatt Morris and Ryan Kelley.

All three Buccaneers were named to the Honorable Mention Team.

Morris, a junior tailback, went over 1,000 yards this past season with 1,114 yards on 213 carries while scoring 12 touchdowns. On defense, he made 33 tackles with one sack.

Kelley was a starting senior guard for the B-U offense that compiled 2,507 yards this season, gaining 1,744 on the ground for a rushing attack that averaged 4.4 yards per rush. The Bucs threw for 763 yards averaging 76.3 yards per game. In a limited role on defense, he made 13 tackles.

Hackett recorded 85 tackles, made one sack and led the team with six interceptions.

Dom Collins of Princeton was named captain of the First Team offense while Rashad Reid of Martinsburg was tabbed as captain of the First Team defense.

Abe Fenwick of George Washington was selected as Second Team offensive captain while Aidan Sparks of Bridgeport was named Second Team defensive captain.

First Team


QB – Chance Barker, Princeton, (Soph.)

QB – David Parsons, Parkersburg (Sr.)

RB – Curtis Jones, Cabell Midland, (Sr.)

RB – Gage Wright, Parkersburg South, (Sr.)

RB – Zach Rohrig, Bridgeport (Sr.)

WR – Dom Collins, Princeton (Sr.) (CAPTAIN)

WR – Mykel Davis, Wheeling Park (Sr.)

OL – Eli Campbell, Princeton (Sr.)

OL – Robby Martin, Huntington (Sr.)

OL – EJ Hendrix, Martinsburg (Sr.)

OL – Daron Parks, Hurricane (Soph.)

OL – Wes Brown, Bridgeport (Jr.)

K – Jonny Aya-ay, Huntington (Sr.)

UTL – Murphy Clement, Martinsburg (Sr.)

UTL – Noah Vellaithambi, Hurricane (Jr.)


DL – Rashad Reid, Martinsburg (Sr.) (CAPTAIN)

DL – Xerxees Yancey, Martinsburg (Sr.)

DL – Beau Ford, Bridgeport (Sr.)

DL – Michael Lunsford, Cabell Midland (Sr.)

DL – Kiyou Jackson, Huntington (Sr.)

LB – Cannon Lewis, Cabell Midland (Sr.)

LB – Nick Busky, Martinsburg (Jr.)

LB – Turner Garrettson, Parkersburg South (Sr.)

LB – Nolan Meehlib, Jefferson (Sr.)

DB – Bobby Powell, Morgantown (Sr.)

DB – Keyshawn Robinson, Jefferson (Sr.)

DB – Zah Jackson, Huntington (Jr.)

P – Tayveon Wilson, Huntington (Soph.)

UTL – Max Anderson, Spring Mills (Soph.)

UTL – Jalyn Abercrombie, Spring Valley (Jr.)

Second Team 


QB – Abe Fenwick, George Washington (Sr.) (CAPTAIN)

RB – Marquel Lowe, Princeton (Jr.)

RB – Josh Love, Bridgeport (Jr.)

RB – Koi Fagan, Martinsburg (Jr.)

WR – Ethan Jackson, University (Jr.)

WR – Tyshawn Dues, Hurricane (Jr.)

OL – Aiden Ellis, George Washington (Sr.)

OL – Wes Hancock, Martinsburg (Sr.)

OL – Ryan Jones, Bridgeport (Sr.)

OL – Tyler Wise, Brooke (Sr.)

OL – Derek Croghan, Wheeling Park (Sr.)

K – Casey Stanley, Parkersburg (Senior)

UTL – Keegan Sack, George Washignton (Jr.)

UTL – Robert Shockey, Cabell Midland (Sr.)

UTL – Malik McNeely, Huntington (Sr.)


DL – Aaron Clark, Hurricane (Sr.)

DL – Trey Woolaston, Musselman (Sr.)

DL – Aidan Sparks, Bridgeport (Sr.) (CAPTAIN)

DL – Kalum Kiser, Princeton (Soph.)

LB – Matthew Stalnaker, Parkersburg (Sr.)

LB – Aydin Flemming, Hedgesville (Sr.)

LB – Jaylon Hill, Morgantown (Sr.)

LB – Brock Kehler, University (Jr.)

LB – Adam Long, Oak Hill (Sr.)

DB – Cale Culicerto, Bridgeport (Sr.)

DB – Malachi Lewis, Oak Hill (Sr.)

DB – Jared Marsh, Wheeling Park (Sr.)

DB – Andrew Stalnaker, Parkersburg (Sr.)

P – Connor Fitzpatrick, John Marshall (Sr.)

UTL – Anthony Valentine, George Washington (Jr.)

Honorable Mention

Bradley Anderson, Ripley; Xavier Anderson, Spring Mills; Drew Banks, Lincoln County; Eli Bartley, Parkersburg South; Brae Booth, Spring Valley; Sam Booth, Spring Valley; Brennan Brinker, Hampshire; John Coleman, University; Caleb Conrad, Hurricane; Avonte Crawford, Huntington; Aiden Davis, Wheeling Park; Isaiah Delauder, Washington; Michael Diacomo, Princeton; Seth Dravar, University; Buzz Dover, Martinsburg; La’Ron Dues, Hurricane; Levi Faircloth, Hedgseville; Garrett Fauble, Washington; Dylan Fleak, Parkersburg South; Cole Ferguson, Spring Valley; Gunner Flores, George Washington; Hunter Giacomo, George Washington; Quinton Goins, Jefferson; Elijah Gray, Oak Hill; Bryce Green, Riverside;  Prophet Guillaume, Spring Mills; Chase Hackett, Buckhannon-Upshur; Brody Hamric, Greenbrier East; Tucker Hammond, Spring Valley; Dylan Harich, Jefferson; Wayne Harris, Huntington; Tanner Hathaway, Bridgeport; Luke Hudson, University; Anthony Ice, Parkersburg; Nycere Jacobs, Jefferson; Tim Jeffress, Bridgeport; Amare Johnson, Wheeling Park; Mikey Johnson, Huntington; Landon Jones, Woodrow Wilson; Ryan Kelley, Buckhannon-Upshur; Greyson Kuhn, Preston; Maverick LeMasters, John Marshall; Ethan Likens, Preston; Jacqai Long, Hurricane; Malik M’Boyo, Morgantown; Cam Martin, Bridgeport; Demonte Martin, Hedgesville; JD Mauritz, Oak Hill; Jameson Maynard, Wheeling Park; Myles Meadors, Cabell Midland; Collen Moore, Ripley; Gavin Moore, Brooke; Wyatt Morris, Buckhannon-Upshur; Brad Mossor, Princeton; Sirod Musgrove, Martinsburg; Landon Nida, Cabell Midland; Caleb Nutter, Morgantown; Xavier Patterson, St. Albans; Drew Phares, Morgantown; Zavier Pollard, Musselman; Tyler Radford, Woodrow Wilson; Mason Ramsey, Cabell Midland; Elijah Redfern, Woodrow Wilson; Cookie Rivera, University; David Robinson, Capital; Zander Robinson, Hampshire; Tay’Shaun Roper, Jefferson;  Logan Sponaugle, Lincoln County; Aiden Stire, Morgantown; Josiah Stratton, Lincoln County; AJ Thomas, Morgantown; Wiz Tye Jr., Huntington; Cam Veazy, Huntington; Triston Walker, Parkersburg South; Tyson Wagoner, Parkersburg South; Elijah Waller, Woodrow Wilson; Garrett Wagoner, Spring Valley; Anthony Williams, Spring Mills; Donovan Williams, Bridgeport; Jason Williams, Parkersburg; Walter Williams, Huntington; Tavion Woods, Riverside; Caleb Yates, John Marshall.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!