State of Emergency for West Virginia 18 counties affected by flooding

CHARLESTON, WV – Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Emergency for 18 counties affected by recent flooding, including Upshur, Randolph, Pocahontas and Braxton counties. Other counties on the list include Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Preston, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, and Wayne counties due to heavy rainfall this week that caused significant flooding.

Click here to view the State of Emergency

Heavy rains caused flooding, power outages, and road blockages across all 18 counties.

As part of this State of Emergency, the Governor has directed the West Virginia Emergency Management Division to:

  • Implement the West Virginia Emergency Operations Plan as it relates to flood response.
  • Mobilize appropriate personnel and resources to respond to the emergency.

The State of Emergency will remain in effect for 30 days, unless terminated by subsequent proclamation.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!