Close this search box.

Six local candidates file for office on first day of May Primary Election filing period

BUCKHANNON – Six local candidates – five for county positions and one for a city post – have filed to run for office in the May 2024 Primary Election.

As of the close of business on the first day of filing, incumbent County Commissioner Kristie Tenney has filed to run for the six-year, full-term county commission seat and Doug Bush, who was appointed following the unexpected passing of the late Terry Cutright, has filed for the two-year unexpired commission seat term, which ends in 2026.

Upshur County Sheriff Mike Coffman has filed to retain his seat for a full four-year term, and Chester Zickefoose has also filed for sheriff. Upshur County Assessor Dusty Zickefoose has filed to keep his position as assessor for another four years, and Upshur County Magistrate Mark Davis has filed to run for another term as magistrate in Division 1.

The only person to file with the City of Buckhannon by the end of business on Jan. 8 was incumbent city council member-at-large Jack Reger, whose seat is up for grabs. The mayor’s position and two other council members-at-large – offices that all carry four-year terms – will also be on the ballot.  

In addition to Reger’s seat, city residents may file for the positions now occupied by Buckhannon Mayor Robbie Skinner and council members-at-large CJ Rylands and Pam Bucklew.

Candidates interested in running for county and city offices in the May 14, 2024, Primary were permitted to begin filing Monday, Jan. 8, and the filing period concludes Jan. 27, 2024.

City candidates may apply to run for any of the available municipal positions on the May 14 ballot from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at Buckhannon City Hall, 70 E. Main Street, Monday through Friday. County candidates may file from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Upshur County Courthouse, 40 W. Main Street, in the County Clerk’s Office Monday through Friday.

The cutoff for filing for either level of office is Jan. 27, a Saturday, so both City Hall and the Upshur County Courthouse will stay open from 9 a.m. to noon that day. If a candidate files through the mail, it must be postmarked by at least 11:59 p.m. on Jan. 27.

For more details about the election, visit the Upshur County Clerk’s Office’s website or find information about the May 2024 Primary Election on the West Virginia Secretary of State’s page.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!