D&E Lessons and Carols
The alto section, part of the 21-member Davis & Elkins College Concert Choir, rehearse for the annual presentation of Lessons and Carols. Titled “Canticles in Candlelight” by Joseph M. Martin, the program is scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, December 6 at Davis Memorial Presbyterian Church.

Rock Cave student to perform solo at D&E’s Annual Lessons and Carols Thursday

ELKINS – A senior from Rock Cave will perform a solo as the Davis & Elkins College Concert Choir and Davis Memorial Presbyterian Church share the Christmas message with the annual presentation of Lessons and Carols at 7 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 6 at DMPC.

Senior Jamey Perrine of Rock Cave will perform a solo and sophomore Robert Fields of Pecks Mill and senior Matthew Weintraub of Lewisburg will perform a duet. Elkins residents Deborah Super, Rose Harvey, Joyce Hutton and Belinda Coberly will accompany the choir on handbells.

This year’s program, “Canticles in Candlelight” by Joseph M. Martin, conveys the story of Jesus’s birth through music, scripture, narration and flickering candles.

The choir, under the direction of Liz Marshall-MacVean and accompanied by Donna Baroudi-Huffman, will participate in the lighting of Advent candles and present “Prepare and Celebrate,” “Advent Longing,” “Awake! Arise! Rejoice!,” “Carols of Joy and Hope,” “A Christmas Madrigal,” “Turn your Heart to Christmas” and “Beautiful Name.”

Highlighting the program will be a Christmas message presented by Benfield-Vick Chaplain the Rev. Laura Brekke Wagoner, a welcome by DMPC Pastor the Rev. Dr. Peter Vial and benediction by Davis & Elkins College President Chris A. Wood.

Members of the Davis & Elkins College Concert Choir are: junior Megan Augustine of Slidell, Louisiana; freshman Vanessa Collette of Beverly; sophomore Ashley Delich of Johnstown, Pennsylvania; sophomore Jennifer Digman of Elkins; sophomore Cassidy Eash Johnstown, Pennsylvania; Fields; freshman Nathaniel Fornash of Huntington; freshman Trevor Gauckler of Charles Town; junior Megan Huffnagel of Elkins; freshman Emilie Johns of Philippi; junior Lauren Lunemann of New Milton; senior Shannen McClure of Marlinton; senior Stewart Alan McGraw of Hinton; Perrine; freshman Sierra Petry of Charleston; freshman Hope Roy of Parsons; freshman Andrew Shand of Napier, New Zealand; junior Hannah Shiflett of Beverly; senior MacKinzie Smith of Renick; senior Joshua Thompson of Parsons; and Weintraub.

A reception will follow in the DMPC Fellowship Hall. The evening’s offering will go toward local food pantries.



Consolidated board determines North Kanawha will remain a two-way street

BUCKHANNON – The Consolidated Public Works Board voted to keep North Kanawha Street a two-way street after previously considering making it a one-way road. The CPWB took up two previously discussed traffic items during their Jan. 26 meeting. The board […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.


Upshur County Sports Calendar

MONDAY (Jan. 30) TUESDAY (Jan. 31) Basketball WEDNESDAY (Feb. 1) Basketball Wrestling THURSDAY (Feb. 2) Basketball FRIDAY (Feb. 3) Basketball Tennis Indoor Track and Field Wrestling SATURDAY (Feb. 4) Basketball Swimming Indoor Track and Field



On the City Calendar: Feb. 1-3, 2023

Board meeting agendas can be found at https://buckhannonwv.org/about-the-city/board-agendas-and-minutes. City Council meeting agendas can be found at https://buckhannonwv.org/about-the-city/city-council-minutes. Wednesday, February 1, 2023 Parks & Recreation Advisory Board Meeting – 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM – To