May 2022 Primary Election update: New candidate filing received in Upshur County Magistrate race

BUCKHANNON – The Upshur County Clerk’s Office received one new filing for office in the May 2022 Primary Election since My Buckhannon’s last update Monday.

Kay Hurst filed for magistrate in Division 1, challenging incumbent Upshur County Magistrate Mark Davis. The county clerk’s office confirmed Hurst filed for office by mail, and her submission was postmarked Jan. 28. The West Virginia Secretary of State’s Office required those candidate filings received via mail be postmarked no later than midnight Jan. 29, 2022.

Magistrate seats are nonpartisan.

Additionally, the Secretary of State’s office shows John Clise, a Democrat from Weston, has filed for the House of Delegates District 64 seat. Incumbent Adam Burkhammer is running on the Republican side.

Finally, on the national level, Barry Lee Wendell, a Democrat from Morgantown, has filed for office in the 2nd Congressional District since My Buckhannon’s last update Monday.

Locally, the Upshur County Board of Education race has shaped up to be the largest with 12 candidates running for the three open nonpartisan seats. At most, two people from any one of the three county magisterial districts can be elected to the BOE at one time. Currently, one person from the second and one person from the third are serving terms that expire in two years.

Here is the complete list of local filings as of Thursday, Feb. 3:

Upshur County Board of Education (nonpartisan)
Dave Chipps (District 1)
Jan Craig (District 1)
Buck Edwards (District 1)
Tom O’Neill (District 1)
Robert Osburn (District 1)
Roy Wager (District 1)
Sherry Dean (District 2)
Harmon George (District 2)
Brandon Weese (District 2)
Derrick Aegan (District 3)
Jesse Davidson (District 3)
Robert ‘Todd’ Starkey (District 3)

City Council (two four-year terms, nonpartisan)
Laura Foulks
Shelia Lewis-Sines
David McCauley
David Thomas
Jim Valenson

City Recorder (one four-year term, nonpartisan)
Randy Sanders

County Commission (1st Magisterial District)
Sam Nolte (R)

County Clerk
Carol J. Smith (R)

Circuit Clerk
Brian P. Gaudet (R)

Magistrate – Division 1 (unexpired term, nonpartisan)
Mark Davis
Kay Hurst

Magistrate – Division 2 (unexpired term, nonpartisan)
Alan Suder
Lindon ‘Lenny’ Stone

Conservation District Supervisor (nonpartisan)
Donnie R. Tenney

11th Senatorial District
Bill Hamilton of Buckhannon (R)

64th Delegate District
Adam Burkhammer of Horner (R)
John Clise (D)

65th Delegate District
Carl “Robbie” Martin of Buckhannon (R)

U.S. House of Representatives (District 2)
Angela J. Dwyer of Martinsburg (D)
Barry Lee Wendell of Morgantown (D)
Susan Buchser-Lochocki of Morgantown (R)
David B. McKinley of Wheeling (R)
Alexander X. Mooney of Charles Town (R)
Mike Seckman of West Union (R)
Barry Lee Wendell (D)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!