Photo courtesy WVWC

Kaycee McCoy named next West Virginia Scholar, receives full scholarship to West Virginia Wesleyan College

BUCKHANNON, West Virginia – George Washington High School rising senior Kaycee McCoy is the winner of the West Virginia Scholar Program, receiving a full tuition plus room and board scholarship to attend West Virginia Wesleyan College beginning in the fall of 2024.

“I want to thank all of the sponsors for this opportunity,” she said. “It really means a lot to my family. My brother went here so it is nice for us to share that experience. I also want to thank my parents because I wouldn’t be here without them. I’m so grateful and thankful that God put me in this position to win this scholarship. I want to say to all the finalists, a lot of applications were sent in and we were the 15 chosen. Congratulations.”

McCoy is interested in becoming a physical therapist and plans to study exercise science and play volleyball.

WVWC will also award $5,000 and $2,500 scholarships to Kyndall Perry of Nitro High School, and Ronald (Trey) Greer of Ripley High School as the first and second runner-up, respectively.

All finalists qualify to receive the Presidential Scholarship, the top academic scholarship for new students. Over the previous 15 years of the West Virginia Scholar Program, approximately two-thirds of finalists have gone on to attend WVWC. Previous winners and finalists are now enjoying successful careers in health care, law, business and education.

John Waltz ’01, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Marketing, said, “This was the strongest group of applicants we have had for this program. The finalists are truly the best students in the State of West Virginia and exemplify initiative, service, and love of the State. We can’t wait to see what they accomplish.”

West Virginia high school juniors were eligible to apply with a transcript and an essay. Ranking of the finalists was determined by WVWC, sponsors of the West Virginia Scholar Program, and online voting. The West Virginia Scholar Program will begin accepting next year’s applications in February 2024.

Finalists also included Nicholas Albright, Hedgesville High School; Abigail Auld, Musselman High School; Lauren Cline, Wirt County High School; Sydney Deaton, Tyler Consolidated High School; Alayna Garst, Williamstown High School; Jordan Groves, Bridgeport High School; Emerson Haddix, Elkins High School; Payton Hill, Hedgesville High School; Hannah Hughes, University High School; Madolyn Long, Buckhannon-Upshur High School; Olivia Raber, Parkersburg South High School and Kendall Watcher, Musselman High School.

The Culpepper Wesleyan Scholars Award, supported by Marvin Culpepper ’51, Hon. ’06 and Elaine Karnes Culpepper ’54, Hon. ’06, provides a portion of the funding for the West Virginia Scholar Program each year. In addition to WVWC and West Virginia MetroNews, the West Virginia Scholar Program is sponsored by Greer Industries, West Virginia Hospital Association, ZMM Architects and Engineers, Friends of Coal and the West Virginia Farm Bureau.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!