Close this search box.
BUHS Girls Soccer
Madi Ware

Gaudet, Ware, Bennett named to all-conference squad

BUCKHANNON — The senior leaders on offense and defense for the Buckhannon-Upshur High School girls soccer team were rewarded with spots on the elite all-conference squad, the league announced over the weekend.

Defender Audrey Gaudet and forward Madison Ware were each selected for the Big 10 first team, while Leigh Ann Bennett was named to the second team.

BUHS Girls Soccer
Audrey Gaudet
BUHS Girls Soccer
Leigh Ann Bennett

“Audrey has had a fantastic four years as a center defender,” B-U head coach Jackie Zuliani said Sunday. “She was the heart and soul of our defense. She shut down so many scoring opportunities and frustrated many strikers. She will be hard to replace.”

On the other end of the field, Zuliani praised Ware for her offensive production.

“Madi had a great season and really worked hard,” the coach said. “She really matured as a young woman and a player. Her movement greatly improved and she was a total offensive threat. She had a great scoring season, but she also had several assists. She has been an offensive leader all of her high school career and we will miss her next year.”

Bennett, meanwhile, made her mark in the midfield.

“Leigh Ann had a great season and really stepped up for us in the midfield,” Zuliani said. “We needed someone to fill in at the holding mid position, and I called on Leigh Ann to give it a shot. She did very well and really changed the balance of our attack.

“She was a natural defender and really helped close down the middle. I am very proud of how far she has come as a player. I hope others learned from her and see to always be open to playing anywhere and doing whatever you can to benefit the team.”

The state champion Robert C. Byrd Lady Eagles dominated the all-conference squads.

Ashton McKane, who scored twice in RCB’s 3-1 win over Charleston Catholic for the state title, was named the Player of the Year, while the conference selected RCB’s Tina Smith as Coach of the Year.

The Lady Buccaneers finished the year with a 13-5-2 record.

The complete all-conference teams:

Player of the Year: Ashton McKane – Robert C. Byrd
Coach of the Year: Tina Smith – Robert C. Byrd

First Team

  • Ashton McKane – Robert C. Byrd
  • Maddie Smith – Robert C. Byrd
  • Lura Simons – Robert C. Byrd
  • Audrey Gaudet – Buckhannon-Upshur 
  • Madison Ware – Buckhannon-Upshur 
  • Kiley Calain – Elkins
  • Sophia Tripplett – Elkins
  • Maddie Wilson – Bridgeport
  • Kristin George – Bridgeport
  • Rory Marple – Bridgeport
  • Payton Gregory – Philip Barbour
  • Trisha Lemasters – Fairmont Senior
  • Mackenzie Hendricks – Lewis County
  • Aeriss Efaw – North Marion

Second Team

  • Tiara Snyder – Robert C. Byrd
  • Leigh Ann Bennett – Buckhannon-Upshur
  • Sydney Davis – Preston
  • Kendra Bolinger – Preston
  • Megan Noss – Preston
  • Brittany Lawrence – Philip Barbour
  • Cloie Mosesso – Philip Barbour
  • Braylynn Travis – Philip Barbour
  • Sydney Vilian – Liberty
  • Avery King – Fairmont Senior
  • Hannah Floyd – Fairmont Senior
  • Mikayla Lattae – Lewis County
  • Emma Cayton – Lewis County

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!