FSU Arts Youth Theatre Company to present ‘Shrek the Musical JR.’ May 12-15

FAIRMONT — Fairmont State University’s Academy for the Arts Youth Theatre Company will present its first live show since the COVID-19 pandemic, Shrek The Musical JR., Thursday, May 12 – Sunday, May 15 in the Wallman Hall Theatre.

The shows will take place as follows:

  • Thursday, May 12 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, May 13 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 14 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 15 – 2 p.m.

Shrek The Musical JR. is based on the Oscar-winning DreamWorks Animation film and Broadway musical. During the show, Shrek leads a cast of fairytale misfits on an adventure to rescue a princess and find true acceptance. Part romance and part twisted fairytale; Shrek The Musical JR. is an irreverently fun show with a powerful message for the whole family.

Shrek The Musical JR. is directed by Elizabeth Wotring-Nelson, with Shannon Yost serving as the assistant director. Desiree Sowards has provided the choreography for the production.

“We are so excited to be back in the Wallman Hall Theatre and back to live shows again,” said Leigh Anne Riley, Fairmont State University Director of Performing Arts Outreach & Development. “Our Academy for the Arts Youth Theatre Company students have been patiently waiting to do Shrek The Musical JR. since March of 2020. We have an incredible cast of young actors, and we can’t wait to share this show with our community.”

The cast is comprised of K-12 students from Harrison, Marion, Monongalia and Taylor Counties including:

Harrison County
Journey Maher, Lilly Smart, Lila Sowards, Aslyn Sowards, Emily Ward and Reese Weaver

Marion County
Reilyn Bainbridge, Samuel Parker Bombard, Morgan Carter, Tarynn Cecil, Samuel Cox, Jonathan DeMary, Joanna Dugan, Brazz Evans IV, Savannah Farcin, Leigha Floyd, Lydia Hatten, Tyler Clay Hayhurst, Shaila King, Mia Kopischke, Sara Martin, Hallie Moore, Eva Moore, Avery Laine Moore, Riley Emerson Moore, Apria Philips, Salem Pollastrini, Jamyson Posey, Finn Santee, Jack Santee, Paxton Stewart and Landon Yost

Monongalia County
Summerlee Hewitt, Ezra Secreto and Dominic Secreto

Taylor County
Heston Rane Hage and Sydni Summers

“We are thrilled to welcome our community back to campus to enjoy these upcoming performances together,” said Fairmont State University President, Mirta M. Martin. “I encourage everyone to join us as we celebrate the talent of each of these young performers.”

The productions are open to the public, with tickets available for purchase for seven dollars. Tickets may be purchased by calling 304-367-4240. Doors will open 30 minutes prior to the start time of each show.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!