D&E students win debate division

ELKINS – Davis & Elkins College Debate Society members Amanda Cummins of Elkins and Jenna Evans of Aylett, Virginia, took home top awards in the Pejaver Debates after winning the novice division in team International Public Debate Association (IPDA). The two-day event was hosted by Middle Tennessee State University.

Team IPDA featured 20 teams consisting of novice and varsity debaters in an open field representing seven colleges and universities.

Cummins and Evans held a 2-1 record entering round four, where they lost a close decision to the University of Tennessee’s top debate team and eventual tournament champions. By virtue of their record, D&E’s team reached the novice breakout round where they won on a 3-0. In the novice speaker division for team IPDA, Cummins placed second and Evans finished fourth.

Rebekah Brown of Roanoke, Virginia, and Thaddaus Breckenridge of Beckley also advanced in team IPDA with a 3-1 record before losing in the quarterfinal round to Tennessee Tech’s top team, the eventual tournament runner-up.

Day two of the Pejaver tournament, which hosted individual IPDA debate, saw the field sizes and attending schools increase significantly.  

Brown and Evans advanced in novice IPDA after 3-3 and 4-2 preliminary records respectively.

Cummins also amassed a 3-3 record in the novice division with wins over debaters from MTSU and MSU, but losses to debaters from Mississippi State, Union University and the University of the Cumberlands.

Breckenridge extended his elimination appearances streak to three out of three on the season, but dropped on a 2-1 decision in the quarterfinal round of the varsity division to Union University’s top debater and eventual tournament co-champion. Through preliminary rounds, Breckenridge managed a 3-3 record with wins over debaters representing Union University and Mississippi State University, but took losses from debaters representing the University of Tennessee, Tennessee Tech and Union University.

Lorenz Schnitzner of East Aurora, New York, and Nathan Wright of Charleston experienced setbacks in both team and individual IPDA, although each won a debate during the individual portion.

The D&E Debate Society returns to competition at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville on January 31.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!