Close this search box.

Commission votes to return to new normal COVID-19 courthouse operations Monday

BUCKHANNON – The Upshur County Commission voted to return to normal COVID-19 operations starting Monday Sept. 21.

The commissioners voted to return to regular COVID-19 operations during the Sept. 17 Upshur County Commission meeting. Upshur County Administrator Carrie Wallace said Sue McKisic, nurse director of the Upshur-Buckhannon Health Department, confirmed there were no new cases of COVID-19 in the courthouse after the initial four cases that closed the building.

“I did speak with Sue McKisic yesterday and she advised that there have not been any new cases at the courthouse,” Wallace said. “No additional people showed any symptoms either, and she was comfortable with the reopening of the courthouse on Monday as the two weeks have passed for the quarantine measures.”

The courthouse hours will remain the same from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and masks remain mandatory.

“Masks have always been mandatory since the governor’s order so it’s in line with the governor’s order,” Wallace said. “Unless you have a medical condition that prohibits you from wearing it or you are under age 9 or you cannot remove a mask on your own.”

All courthouse offices are open for business, but elected officials dictate if they will operate on a by-appointment-only basis.

“It’s always up to the elected official to set the hours for their office, so if they want to remain by-appointment-only, by all means they could do so,” Wallace said. “My recommendation to residents would be to call the office that you’re wishing to visit and determine whether or not you can handle your business online via mail or telephone and also get the specifics as far as how they’re handling their office hours and appointments.”

Upshur County Commission meetings will now be available for in-person attendance, but people can still utilize the teleconference option.

Commissioner Sam Nolte entertained a motion to return to regular COVID-19 protocol starting Monday, Sept. 21. Commissioner Kristie Tenney seconded the motion.

Here’s some helpful county contact information:

  • For emergencies: Dial 911
  • Assessor: 304-472-4650
  • Circuit Clerk: 304-472-2370
  • Circuit Court: 304-472-5556 / 304-472-0195
  • Commission: 304-472-0535
  • County Clerk: 304-472-1068
  • E911 Communications Center: 304-472-9550
  • Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management: 304-472-4983
  • Family Court: 304-472-1065 / 304-269-0432
  • Floodplain/Building Permits: 304-472-1673
  • Magistrate Clerk: 304-472-2053
  • Sheriff’s Department: 304-472-1182
  • Tax Office/Fire Fee: 304-472-1180

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!