Close this search box.

Celebration of Student Scholarship recognized student research

The annual Celebration of Student Scholarship honored the undergraduate research and creative work of Fairmont State University’s students on Wednesday in the Falcon Center Conference Rooms.

Another purpose is to recognize faculty mentors whose guidance has helped students reach their academic goals. Student efforts reflect the importance of independent, discipline-specific research as an exceptional learning experience.

“This is a day the University sets aside each April to have these students present their research and work,” said Dr. Robert Baker, Honors Program director and senior professor of English. “Many of the students present their work in papers and talks. Others have posters that display the work that they have done.”

Participating student scholars are the following: Jeray S. Allen, Matthias Baur, Madison M. Beekler, Saylor R. Beezel, Cameron M. Bell, Mark A. Bonamico, Jordyn I. Bowers, Joseph A. Caruso, Allison B. Carvelli, Brett N. Chase, Tingting Chen, Mina Chu, Carlie E. Cline, Samantha L. Cole, Katherine M. Conley, Stephanie R. Cottrell, Taylor A. Crawford, Eamonn D. Cronin, Reno Cutright, Kristina M. Daniels, Dustin W. Dilley, Jonathon R. Fedoush, Abbey M. Ferrari, Dallas Z. Freeman, Francisco M. Guerrero, Megan E. Haller, Travis M. Harding, Jordyn Henigin, Zachary P. Herberger, K. Rae Hill, Spencer J. Honaker, Abigail S. Johnson, Jessica M. Johnson, Mattison E. Johnson, Jack G. Johnston, Emily N. Jordan, Trinite Klamadji, Rebecca M. Kocsis, Matthew R. Lambert, Lindsey M. LaNeve, Caleb H. Lutjens, Sydney M. Maibach, Alec E. Mason, Marcus A. Mason, Blake A. Massie, Mikala D. Mays, Halley N. McCarty, Savanna L. McCrobie, Brooke A. McWhirt, Zachary T. Messersmith, Allison R. Moore, Jessica N. Moore, Cheyenne M. Navarro, Dakota R. Null, Lily M. Peterson, Chasity J. Putlovis, Cole J. Quigley, Tyler A. Rhodes, Sean M. Riggleman, Rebecca J. Rutherford, Ashley N. Ruza, William C. Sampson, Nathan C. Sandruck, Dawn M. Sargent, Kyle L. Savina, James D. Shafer, Sophia A. Shumway, Christian A. Smith, Geoffrey M. Splendorio, Krystal L. Starcher, Angelica E. Starcovic, Sarah A. Starcovic, Ryan J. Stephenson, Sarah J. Summers, Jenna E. Swan, Molly K. Talbert, Megan G. Talbott, Jennifer L. Tassos, Samantha N. Tate, Allison E. Tomko, Kemdi O. Uzoanya, Stacie R. Welling, and Samantha J. Wolfe.

Faculty mentors for the participating students are the following: Raymond Alvarez, Andreas Baur, Brian Blackwood, Rachel Cook, Tom Cuchta, Thomas Devine, Mark Flood, Rebecca Giorcelli, Erica Harvey, Kristy Henson, Matthew Hokom, Christopher Last, Donna Long, James Matthews, Kirk Morphew, Leisa Muto, Nathan Myers, Deborah Nestor, Robert Niichel, Paul Reneau, Stephen Rice, Steven Roof, Elizabeth Savage, Ashley Shroyer, Sharon Smith, and Sunil Surendran.

The celebration was organized a faculty committee that includes Dr. Julia dos Santos, Rebecca Giorcelli, Denice Kirchoff, Kirk Morphew, Sarah Rude, Sharon Smith, Sam Spears, and Dr. Robert Baker. The Celebration is generously underwritten by Dr. Richard C. Harvey, Provost.

The Celebration has its roots in an Honors Program effort in 2002 to honor the intellectual and creative work that students undertook beyond their curricular requirements. The original Celebrations become a University effort about six years later when Dr. Phil Mason, who was then Vice President of Research and Grants, was promoting Undergraduate Research. 

Fairmont State’s faculty have long promoted undergraduate research because they know that this research prepares students for advanced study and, more importantly, it promotes intellectual independence and personal responsibility in the students.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!