Close this search box.
Lamar Hurst

B-U’s Hurst earns All-State Honorable Mention honors

TENNERTON – Buckhannon-Upshur junior forward Lamar Hurst was named to the 2021-22 Class AAAA Boys Basketball All-State Team as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Hurst, the lone selection from Buckhannon-Upshur, was selected to the Honorable Mention Team.

Hurst led the team in scoring with 15.1 points per game while averaging 6.4 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game.

Hurst was recently named to the Big 10 Conference First Team. 

Morgantown’s Alec Poland was named captain of the First Team while Woodrow Wilson’s Elijah Redfern was tabbed as captain of the Second Team.

The 20221-2022 Class AAAA Boys Basketball All-State Team as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association:


Alec Poland, Morgantown, 6-2, 215, Sr. (Captain)

Duane Harris, South Charleston, 5-10, 155, Soph.

Jordan Holmes, Musselman, 6-2, 175, Sr.

Cameron Johnson, Jefferson, 6-5, 170, Sr.

Ashton Mooney, Parkersburg South, 6-0, 165, Sr.

Ben Nicol, George Washington, 6-6, 200, Jr.

Chandler Schmidt, Cabell Midland, 6-1, 195, Sr.

Sha’ron Young, Morgantown, 6-0, 150, Soph.


Elijah Redfern, Woodrow Wilson, 6-2, 165, Soph. (Captain)

Brooks Gage, Morgantown, 6-2, 175, Sr.

Jaden Gladney, Jefferson, 5-11, 150, Soph.

Anthony Hersh, Capital, 5-11, 160, Sr.

Alex Isinghood, Brooke, 6-3, 195, Sr.

Mikey Johnson, Huntington, 6-0, 160, Soph.

Adam Seams, Greenbrier East, 6-0, 145, Jr.

Cyrus Traugh, Parkersburg South, 6-1, 165, Jr.


Avion Blackwood, Martinsburg; Keshaun Cheek, Spring Mills; Jayden Clark, St. Albans; Aiden Davis, Wheeling Park; Brody Davis, Morgantown; Mondrell Dean, South Charleston; Mitchell Duez, Bridgeport; Chase Hancock, Princeton; Goose Gabbert, Greenbrier East; Jalen Goins, Morgantown; Roman Gray, John Marshall; Aaron Griffith, Greenbrier East; Lamar Hurst, Buckhannon-Upshur; Jamari Jenkins, Jefferson; Nas’Jah Jones, Hurricane; Kris Joyce, Princeton; Zane McCarty, George Washington; Jacob Perdue, Oak Hill; Brett Phillips, Wheeling Park; Elijah Poore, Capital; Drew Reed, St. Albans; Bryson Singer, Parkersburg; Bryson Smith, South Charleston; Anthony Spatafore, Bridgeport; Cole Sperlazza, Brooke; Braydin Ward, Riverside; Cameron Wilkes, Hedgesville; Brendan Hoffman, George Washington

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!