MEC Reid Amos
Reid Amos

Amos named chair of NCAA Division II Football Committee

BRIDGEPORT – Mountain East Conference Commissioner Reid Amos was named the chairperson of the NCAA Division II Football Committee at the body’s annual meeting. Amos has served on the Football Committee since 2015 as co-chair of Super Region 1 following service on its Regional Advisory Committee.

“It has been a pleasure serving with outstanding administrators and coaches on the NCAA Division II Football Committee over the last three-plus years as together we have tackled many important issues through an important period of time in the sport,” Amos said. “I am honored to serve as chair as we prepare to support an outstanding championship experience during what promises to be an exciting 2018 playoff season.”

Along with Amos, the 2018 NCAA Division II Football Committee includes: Dick Christy (Director of Athletics, UNC Pembroke), Kent Weiser (Director of Athletics, Emporia State), Gary Pine (Director of Athletics, Azusa Pacific), Daryl Dickey (Director of Men’s Athletics, West Georgia), John Wristen (Head Football Coach, Colorado State University-Pueblo), Mike Babcock (Head Football Coach, McKendree), and Gary Goff (Head Football Coach, Tiffin).

Amos is in his sixth season as commissioner of the Mountain East Conference and previously served as chair of NCAA Division II Men’s Golf in 2012-13 and 2013-14. During his time with the MEC, the conference’s members have participated in 13 NCAA semifinals and seven championship finals. League members have claimed a pair of team national championships with Wheeling Jesuit winning women’s volleyball in 2015 and the University of Charleston taking the men’s soccer title in 2017. Additionally, seven MEC student-athletes have been recipients of the Elite 90 Award, among the highest honors for a NCAA student-athlete. The league has also served as host for multiple NCAA regional and national championships, and Amos has led the expansion of the league’s championship offerings from 16 at its founding in 2013 to 23 by the year 2020.

The NCAA Division II Football Playoffs begin Nov. 17 and the national championship is scheduled for Dec. 15. NCAA Division II Football is broken up into four Super Regions with the top seven teams advancing to the NCAA Playoffs from each of the four Super Regions as part of a 28-team championship field. There are a total of 167 football schools in Division II for 2018.



Board of Education votes to extend interim superintendent’s contract

BUCKHANNON – The contract of the interim superintendent of Upshur County Schools has been extended for one year. The Upshur County Board of Education on Tuesday voted 3-0 – with two abstentions – to extend the contract of interim superintendent […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

The Brushy Fork Event Center is ready to host everything from elegant weddings to corporate conferences. And when things don't go exactly as planned, the skilled staff is ready do what it takes to ensure every event is a success.

City ponders path forward as CVB relinquishes management of the Event Center at Brushy Fork

BUCKHANNON – Starting in April, a new entity will be managing the Event Center at Brushy Fork – but just who that will be remains in flux after a lengthy discussion at Buckhannon City Council’s meeting Thursday. The Upshur County […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Support Your Local Restaurants: The Links

By the Secret Chef If you believe life is too short to cook all the time (or maybe never 😉), The Links Restaurant located in the historic Buckhannon Country Club, now open to the public,


Wrestling Bucs split home tri with John Marshall and Oak Hill; prepare for Big 10 Conference championships this Friday and Saturday

BUCKHANNON – The Buckhannon-Upshur wrestling Bucs had one final tune-up before they hit the post season with a home tri-outing with John Marshall Monarchs and Oak Hill Red Devils this past weekend. The Bucs dropped a 45-24 decision to John […]

Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to this story — and thousands more. Free trial available! Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Basketball ‘Cats score season-low 38 points in loss to Salem

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s basketball team lost a non-conference matchup to Salem on Wednesday night 74-38. The Bobcats were held to their lowest point total of the season, shooting 17-64 (27%)

WVWC softball picked to win MEC South Divison

BRIDGEPORT, W.Va. – Frostburg State and West Virginia Wesleyan have been picked to win divisional championships during the 2023 Mountain East Conference softball season following a vote of the league’s head coaches. Frostburg State has been picked