Close this search box.

After delays in other counties, commission certifies May 2022 Primary Election results

BUCKHANNON – The Upshur County Commission has certified the results of the May 10, 2022, Primary Election in all county, state and federal contests.

A week ago, during their weekly May 19 meeting, the Upshur County Commission approved election results for Upshur County only. Then, on Thursday, May 26, commissioners certified the state and federal results as well. Upshur County Clerk Carol Smith explained the commissioners were not able to certify all the election results at the May 19 meeting because some counties hadn’t finished tabulating the state races at that time.

“Hopefully, by next week’s agenda we’ll be able to get the state races certified,” Smith said at the May 19 meeting. “You can start with the county races and the city races today. There are other counties that have the same candidates on the ballot, so if a candidate wanted a recount, everyone started that 48-hour period at the same time.”

Upshur County Commission president Kristie Tenney asked Smith if a candidate wanted a recount if they would only recount that race. Smith said yes, they would recount just the requested race. You can view preliminary results here and official results will be posted soon here on the Upshur County Clerk’s website.

Prior to adjourning, commissioners took the following actions:

  • Approved and signed a letter of support for the City of Buckhannon’s Transportation Alternatives grant application for the Morton Avenue and North Locust Street sidewalk and lighting project.
  • Accepted a letter from Brian Elmore notifying them of his resignation from the Upshur County Fire Board, effective May 19, 2022.
  • Approved a request from the Upshur County Development Authority via a resolution adopted May 13, 2022. The resolution requested the appointment of Bobby Gompers, Bob Skinner, Aaron Harris, Greg Hadjis and Arria Hines to the UCDA Board. Upon approval, their terms will begin on July 1, 2022, and expire on June 30, 2025. Dr. James Moore was also appointed to fill the unexpired position of West Virginia Wesleyan College president Joel Thierstein, and his term expires June 30, 2024.  
  • Reviewed and signed correspondence from Jonathan Vickers, assistant director for the Chief Inspector’s Division of the West Virginia State Auditor’s Office, confirming services to be provided to the Upshur County Commission for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2021. The fee for the audit services will be $37,860.

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!