Pictured, front row (l-r) Calo, Senator, Martin, Dr. Tracey DeLaney, Dr. Bert Popson. Second row—Dr. Wiest, Feldhake Winston, Rodgers, Bibey, Lough, and Dr. Eric Reynolds. Not present—Fox, Knotts, and Tenney.

2018 NASA Fellowship Winners at Wesleyan

BUCKHANNON — The NASA WV Space Grant Consortium has awarded NASA Fellowships to 11 West Virginia Wesleyan College’s physics students. The announcement was made by Dr. Joseph Wiest, Professor of Physics. The student recipients are paid a stipend to work on a research project. “Winners are selected based on their academic record and their commitment to a discipline of interest to NASA,” said Dr. Wiest, who also serves as a member of the NASA Board.

The students are juniors Spencer Rodgers of Wheeling and Joshua Tenney of Tallmansville; sophomores Richard Calo of Martinsburg and Luke Feldhake of Beaver; and freshmen Justin Bibey of Elkins, Carson Fox of Ravenswood, Justin Knotts of Morgantown, Dominick Lough of Grafton, Virginia Martin of Wiley Ford, Baylee Senator of Chapmanville and Michael Winston of Lewisburg.

Wesleyan is a long-time member of the NASA WV Space Grant Consortium.  In addition to awarding fellowships during the academic year and each summer, the consortium provides technical advice to the College’s Space Club building payloads to be launched from NASA rockets.

Wesleyan, which has over 80 physics majors, offers a bachelor of arts in physics and a bachelor of science in applied physics.  The College also has 3-2 engineering agreements with the University of Virginia, Virginia Tech, and West Virginia University.

For more information on the West Virginia Wesleyan College Department of Physics and Engineering, please visit



Upshur County Board of Education taps Daya Wright to fill Long’s unexpired term

BUCKHANNON – A local attorney will join the Upshur County Board of Education following a special meeting Friday. The Upshur County Board of Education voted unanimously to select Daya Wright after meeting in a special session Friday afternoon to interview […]

There’s more to this story! Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to daily, in-depth local news that matters to you. Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.

Police Crime

Update: Deputies arrest two for animal cruelty

BUCKHANNON — Two Upshur County women have been arrested and charged with animal cruelty after deputies seized more than 80 dogs being kept in “deplorable conditions” earlier this week. “On Thursday, October 6, 2022, Rebecca

Lewis County man arrested for allegedly fleeing under the influence after wrecking vehicle on Route 20

BUCKHANNON – A Lewis County man who allegedly fled from police at speeds in excess of 100 mph while under the influence of alcohol and eventually crashed the SUV he was driving on Route 20 South was arrested Wednesday. Cody […]

There’s more to this story! Become a premium member to unlock immediate access to daily, in-depth local news that matters to you. Signing up is easy — just tap the button below.


Bobcat basketball program announces 2022-23 schedule

BUCKHANNON, W.Va.– The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s basketball team and Head Coach Derek Sloan released its 2022-23 schedule. The Bobcats are scheduled to play 12 home games this season at the Rockefeller Center. The Bobcats

Wesleyan women’s basketball team release 2022-23 schedule

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Wesleyan women’s basketball team and head coach Brett Vincent released its 2022-23 schedule on Thursday (Oct. 6). The Lady Bobcats are scheduled to play 12 home games inside Rockefeller

Soccer Bobcats earn 2-0 road win over Battlers

PHILIPPI, W.Va. — The West Virginia Wesleyan (5-3-3, 3-3-3) men’s soccer team earned three points against Alderson Broaddus (2-8-2, 2-7-1) with a 2-0 win after a strong second half performance. In the first half, the


St. Joseph’s Hospital recognizes healthcare food service workers

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. –St. Joseph’s Hospital recognized the contributions of their Healthcare Food Service workers during the week of October 3 to 8.  These hardworking individuals do their best to make healthcare visits a beneficial experience