Close this search box.

Currence, Frye and McDaniels earn All-Conference volleyball honors

TENNERTON – Buckhannon-Upshur landed three players on the recently released Big 10 All-Conference volleyball team.

Kendall Currence was named to the First Team while Caroline Frye and Shelby McDaniels were selected to the Second Team

Currence led the Lady Bucs in three categories —  in aces with 60, kills with 173 and in blocks with 57. She also recorded 161 digs and had 33 assists.

“Kendal was a huge asset to our offense this season,” stated Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Ashley Stanton.

McDaniels was third on the team in aces with 51 and fourth on the team in kills with 89, digs with 159 and in assists with 29. She also had four blocks.

“Shelby’s versatility and quick-mindedness was a great asset to the team this year,” noted Stanton.

Frye paced the team in digs with 259 and second in kills with 103. She also served up 27 aces, 13 assists and three blocks.

“Caroline’s determination to dive after any ball was a great asset to our defense,” said Stanton.

Philip Barbour, which won the Class AA title, had the most players on the First Team with three while Bridgeport and Robert C. Byrd each had two.

Violet Sickles of Bridgeport and Avery Childers of Robert C. Byrd were named Big 10 Co-Players of the Year while Robert C. Byrd’s Andrea Sturm was named the Coach of the Year.

“I am very proud of these girls and their accomplishments this season,” concluded Stanton on the postseason honors earned by Currence, Frye and McDaniels.



Kendall Currence – Buckhannon-Upshur

Alexa Martin – Bridgeport

Violet Sickles – Bridgeport

Kaitlynn Stone – Elkins

Payton Shreve – Grafton

Gabby Floyd – Liberty

Savannah Patterson – Liberty

Averi Carpenter – Philip Barbour

Emily Denison – Philip Barbour

Alyssa Hill – Philip Barbour

Fran Alvero – Robert C. Byrd

Avery Childers – Robert C. Byrd


Caroline Frye – Buckhannon-Upshur

Shelby McDaniels – Buckhannon-Upshur

Cambria Freeman – Bridgeport

Jacey Lucas – Bridgeport

Blair Nuzum – East Fairmont

Olivia Guire – Elkins

Aniesa Taylor – Grafton

Abby Hartley – Lewis County

Sydney McDougal – Lincoln

MacKenna Halfin – Philip Barbour

Emily Knotts – Preston

Emma Swiger – Robert C. Byrd

Co-Players of the Year – Violet Sickles (Bridgeport) and Avery Childers (Robert C. Byrd)

Coach of the Year – Andrea Sturm (Robert C. Byrd)

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!