B-U’s Calef-Boring named First Team All-State; Marple earns Honorable Mention honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneer baseball team landed two players on the 2023 WVSWA Class AAA All-State team.

Zach Calef-Boring was named to the First Team while Landon Marple was selected to the Honorable Mention team.

Calef-Boring, a senior, made the First Team as an outfielder.

He led the Bucs on the mound pitching a team-high 45 2/3 innings while posting a 2-1 record with a team-best 2.29 earned run average. He struck out 45 batters and walked just 16.

At the plate, he led the team in batting average with a .433 average collecting 39 hits in 90 at-bats with eight doubles, two triples and two home runs. He scored a team-high 40 runs and drove in 28.

Marple, a sophomore, was second on the team in batting average hitting .388 getting 33 hits in 85 at-bats. He led the team in runs-batted-in with 29 and in home runs with four.

University senior Noah Braham was named captain of the First Team as an infielder.

Class AAA

  • P – Reece Sutphin, Hurricane, Sr.
  • P – Lane DeLauter, Hedgesville, Jr.
  • P – Bryson Hoff, George Washington, Jr.
  • C – Bentley Kinzer, Parkersburg South, Sr.
  • C – Ty Galusky, Morgantown, Sr.
  • Inf – Noah Braham, University, Sr. (captain)
  • Inf – Braylon Conner, Hedgesville, Sr.
  • Inf – Ryan Fluharty, Morgantown, Sr.
  • Inf – Kaleb Swisher, Ripley, Sr.
  • OF – Damian Witty, Hurricane, Sr.
  • OF – Zach Calef-Boring, Buckhannon-Upshur, Sr.
  • OF – Kyle Lore, Musselman, Jr.
  • Util – Phil Reed, Bridgeport, Sr.
  • Util – Branson McCloud, Spring Valley, Sr.
  • Util – Kenyon Collins, Cabell Midland, Jr.


  • P – Grant Stratton, Spring Valley, Jr.
  • P – Ethan Marshall, Parkersburg, Sr.
  • P – Hunter Dakan, Morgantown, Jr.
  • C – Caleb Fletcher, Jefferson, Soph.
  • C – Caden Johnson, Hurricane, Sr.
  • Inf – Cody Thomas, University, Sr.
  • Inf -Aiden Youngblood, St. Albans, Jr.
  • Inf – Darris Boswell, Greenbrier East, Sr.
  • Inf – Zach Rohrig, Bridgeport, Jr.
  • OF – Wenkai Campbell, University, Jr.
  • OF – Aaron Jamison, Morgantown, Sr.
  • OF – Carson Lauttamus, Brooke, Jr.
  • Util – Owen Gress, Hurricane, Sr.
  • Util – Jayden McLain, Oak Hill, Jr.
  • Util – Jack Eastone, Cabell Midland, Sr.

Honorable mention

Drew Bailey, Morgantown; Andrew Bell, Bridgeport; Dylan Bell, Hurricane;  Mark Biafore, Bridgeport; Mason Chaney, Preston; Ashton Cochran, Greenbrier East; Grant Cochran, Princeton; Jacob Coffield, John Marshall; Brody Combs, Princeton; Jake Croston, University; Carson Currey, Bridgeport; Jackson Curry, Ripley; Gian DeGenova, Wheeling Park; Kade Goode, Ripley; Zach Harman, University Bayden Hartman, Musselman; Zach Jenkins, Princeton; Michael Lupis, Martinsburg; Landon Marple, Buckhannon-Upshur; Brady McNew, Preston; Rowen Michaelis, Bridgeport; Connor Mollohan, Woodrow Wilson; Cam Moore, Washington; Clayton Morgan, Greenbrier East; Riley Morgan, Jefferson; Jax O’Roarke, Huntington; Gabe Patton, Greenbrier East; Isaac Petitt, Cabell Midland Brayden Petty, Parkersburg; Collin Reed, Washington; Jaxson Ruest, Hedgesville; Grant Shoemaker, Spring Valley; Brayden Starcher, Lincoln County; Blake Stratton, Woodrow Wilson; Dylan Travinski, Morgantown; Alec Vance, Ripley; Ray Ray Williams, Cabell Midland;  Evan Wilson, Capital, Tayveon Wilson, Huntington

News Feed

Subscribe to remove popups, or just enjoy this free story and support our local businesses!